Calendars and Curricular/Scheduling Information


Undergraduate Medical Education (UME)


MEDMap - SOM Curriculum Content Management and Calendaring System


Academic Calendar & Curriculum Schematics


Examination Dates


Learning Community Monthly Meeting Dates


Class Meeting Dates


School of Medicine Daily Events Calendar (departments, seminars, etc.)

Submit your event


Course/Clerkship Schedules and Contacts

Pre-Clerkship Curriculum Clerkship Curriculum

First Year Schedules and Contacts

Second Year Schedules and Contacts

Textbook List  2014-2015

LHL SOM Liaison Guide

Clerkship Objectives

Clerkship-Campus Contacts List

2014-2015 Clinical Calendar

2015-2016 Clinical Calendar

LHL SOM Liaison Guide

Other Important Dates 

Monday, September 1, 2014 Labor Day: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes.  UAB holiday.
Friday, September 12, 2014
1:30 pm - 4:00 pm
as assigned
MS2 Interdisciplinary Team Training Activity (required): Half the class will be assigned to this session by ICM in the fall and the other half in the spring. The spring date is Friday, February 13, 2014, from 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm.
Monday, October 20, 2014 to
Sunday, October 26, 2014
MS1 and MS2 fall break: The last day of MS1 and MS2 classes before fall break will be Friday, October 17, 2014, unless otherwise noted.
Tuesday, October 28, 2014 Medical Student Research Day
Monday, November 17, 2014 and
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
MS2 NBME USMLE Preparation "Kick Off" with Dr. S. Smith, Academic Success
Thursday, November 27, 2014 and
Friday, November 28, 2014
Thanksgiving: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes.  UAB holiday.
Saturday, December 22, 2014 to
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Winter break: The last day of classes before Winter Break will be Friday, December 21, 2014.  All classes will resume on Monday, January 5, 2015.  

Thursday, December 25, 2014 and Thursday, January 1, 2015, are UAB holidays.
Monday, January 19, 2015 Martin Luther King, Jr., Day.  There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes.  UAB holiday.
Friday, January 30, 2015 SOM "The Best Medicine Show" - Boutwell Auditorium
Friday, February 13, 2015
1:30 pm - 4:00 pm
as assigned
MS2 Interdisciplinary Team Training Activity (required): The half of the class that was not assigned to this activity in the fall will be required to participate in this activity in the spring.
Saturday, March 16, 2015 to
Sunday, March 22, 2015
MS1 spring break: The last day of MS1 classes before Spring Break will be Friday, March 15, 2015.
Monday, March 23, 2015 to
Sunday, May 3, 2015
MS2 Step I Preparation Break (including Clinical Transition Campus Orientations, as specified by campus): The last day of MS2 classes in the pre-clerkship curriculum will be Friday, March 20, 2015.  

Campus transition activities may occur during Step I Preparation, particularly the week of April 27, 2015 (the week prior to block 6).
Monday, May 25, 2015 Memorial Day: No MS1 or MS2 classes.  UAB holiday.
Monday, June 8, 2015 MS1 summer break begins


Calendars and schedules which are posted are subject to change and may be updated.