Name  Interests Phone & Email
 
Victor J. Thannickal, MD
Professor; Division Director
Pulmonary Fibrosis,Interstitial Lung Disease (205) 975-6376
vjthan@uab.edu

James E. Johnson, MD
Professor; Clinical Director 
COPD, Dyspnea, Mechanical Ventilation (205) 934-0313
jej@uab.edu

John T. Anderson, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor 
Asthma (205) 975-6770
janderson@alabamaallergy.com

Veena Antony, MD
Professor
Environmental & Occupational Medicine, CF, Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis, Mycobacterial Disease, Pleural Disease  (205) 975-3258
vantony@uab.edu 

William C. Bailey, MD
Professor (Retired)
General Pulmonary  (205) 934-5560
wcbailey@uab.edu 

Hitesh Batra, MD
Assistant Professor
Interventional Pulmonology, Lung Cancer, Plerual Disease, Critical Care (205) 996-1685
hbatra@uabmc.edu

Joseph B. Barney, MD
Associate Professor
Pulmonary Fibrosis, Sarcoidosis, ILD  (205) 975-6770
drbarney@uab.edu 

Gerald Belopolsky, MD
Assistant Professor
Lung Cancer  (205) 934-0313
geraldb9@uab.edu 

Karen Bernard, PhD
Assistant Professor
Lung injury-repair, Myofibroblast biology (205) 975-6376
kbernard@uab.edu

Surya P. Bhatt, MD
Assistant Professor 
COPD (205) 934-7970
spbhatt@uab.edu

J. Edwin Blalock, PhD
Professor
Research in Neutrophilic Inflammation (205) 934-6439
blalock@uab.edu

Scott E. Buchalter, MD
Professor
General Pulmonary  (205) 996-5732
sbuchalt@uabmc.edu 

A. Brent Carter, MD
Professor
Interstitial Lung Disease, Asthma, Acute, Lung Injury (205) 996-5732
bcarter1@uab.edu 

Guangjie (Jeff) Cheng, MD
Associate Professor
Research in NOX Enzymes (205) 975-8919
gjcheng@uab.edu 

J. Allen D. Cooper, Jr., MD
Professor
COPD, Emphysema, Chronic Bronchitis, Occupational Medicine  (205) 975-8978
allenc@uab.edu

Joao A.M. de Andrade, MD
Associate Professor
Pulmonary Fibrosis, ILD (205) 975-6770
joao@uab.edu 

Jessy Deshane, PhD 
Assistant Professor
Research in Inflammatory Diseases  (205) 996-2041
treena@uab.edu 

Enrique Diaz-Guzman, MD 
Associate Professor
Lung Transplantation (205) 934-7458
diaze@uab.edu

Qiang (John) Ding, PhD
Associate Professor
Research in Fibroblast Migration  (205) 996-2512
qding@uab.edu 

Mark T. Dransfield, MD 
Associate Director
COPD, Emphysema, Lung Cancer, Chronic Bronchitis  (205) 975-6770
mdrans99@uab.edu

Steven R. Duncan, MD 
Professor
Critical Care Medicine and Pulmonary Medicine (205) 934-5018
duncsr19@uab.edu 

Amit Gaggar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Adult CF, Lung Transplant (205) 975-6770
agaggar@uab.edu

Shawn F. Galin, PhD
Associate Professor
Research in Neutrophils in Chronic Lung Rejection (205) 934-6687
galin@uab.edu

Susan Harding, MD 
Professor
 Sleep/Wake Disorders (205) 934-3742
sharding@uab.edu 

Kathy Harrington, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor
Health Literacy Issues in Pediatric Asthma (205) 996-5889
kharring@uab.edu

Jack Hasson, MD
Assistant Professor
General Pulmonary (205) 801-8699
jhasson@uab.edu

Patricia L. Jackson, PhD
Associate Professor
Proteins and Peptides in Biological/Clinical Samples (205) 934-2622
plj@uab.edu

John I. Kennedy, Jr., MD
Professor
General Pulmonary (205) 934-7970
john.kennedy2@med.va.gov

John P. Lazenby, MD
Assistant Professor
Sleep/Wake Disorders (205) 934-3742
laze@uab.edu

Kevin J. Leon, MD
Associate Professor
Adult CF, Lung Transplant (205) 934-7970
kleon@uab.edu

Gang Liu, MD
Associate Professor
MicroRNAs in Pulmonary Inflammation, Hypertension and Fibrosis  (205) 934-7793
gliu@uab.edu

Rui-Ming Liu, MD, PhD, DABT
Professor
Oxidative stress, aging, and aging related diseases, mainly IPF and Alzheimer's disease (205) 934-7028
rliu@uab.edu

Tracy Luckhardt, MD
Assistant Professor
Pulmonary Fibrosis, ILD (205) 975-6770
tluck@uab.edu

Philip J. O'Reilly, MD 
Assistant Professor
COPD, Emphysema, Chronic Bronchitis  (205) 975-6770 
poreilly@uab.edu

S. Vamsee Raju, B. Pharm, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathophysiologic Mechanisms of Altered Epithelial Ion Transport (205) 934-9640
svraju@uab.edu

Sunad Rangarajan, MD
Instructor
  (206) 996-2078
sunad@uab.edu

Steven M. Rowe, MD, MSPH 
Associate Professor
Adult CF  (205) 934-9640
smrowe@uab.edu 

Yan Sanders, MD
Assistant Professor
Epigenetics Aspects of Pulmonary Fibrosis and Aging

(205) 975-3521
yans@uab.edu


George "Marty" Solomon, MD
Instructor
CF and non-CF bronchiectasis   (205) 996-1685
msolomon@uab.edu

W. Steve Stigler, MD
Assistant Professor
Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome, Sepsis, Mechanical Ventilation (205) 934-7679
sstigler@uab.edu

Chad Steele, PhD
Endowed Professor in Lung Immunology
Assistant Dean for Research Administration
School of Medicine and Office of the Senior Vice Provost
Lung Immunology and Host Defense (205) 996-9598
chadsteele@uab.edu

Jennifer Trevor, MD
Assistant Professor
General Pulmonary (205) 801-8699
jtrevor@uab.edu

J. Michael Wells, MD
Assistant Professor
COPD, Asthma, Critical Care, ARDS (205) 975-6770
jmwells@uab.edu

Keith M. Wille, MD, MSPH
Associate Professor
Lung Transplant, Pulmonary Embolism (205) 934-7970
wille@uab.edu

Xin Xu, MD, PhD, MLS
Assistant Professor
Inflammatory Diseases. Airway Inflammatory Response and Autoimmune Disorder. (205) 975-5015
xinx@uab.edu

Yong Zhou, PhD
Associate Professor
Myofibroblasts (205) 975-2216
yzhou@uab.edu

Jaroslaw Zmijewski, PhD
Associate Professor
Inflammation Conditions associated with Organ Dysfunction (205) 934-7792
zmijewsk@uab.edu
 

SOM Epilogue Menu