Faculty

Name  Interests Phone & Email

Victor J. Thannickal, MD
Professor; Division Director 
Pulmonary Fibrosis
Interstitial Lung Disease
(205) 975-6376
vjthan@uab.edu

James E. Johnson, MD
Professor; Clinical Director 
COPD, Dyspnea, Mechanical Ventilation (205) 934-0313
jej@uab.edu

John T. Anderson, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor 
Asthma (205) 975-6770
janderson@alabamaallergy.com

Veena Antony, MD
Professor 
Environmental & Occupational Medicine, CF, Chronic Bronchitis, Emphysema, Mycobacterial Disease, Pleural Disease  (205) 975-3258
vantony@uab.edu 

William C. Bailey, MD
Professor 
General Pulmonary  (205) 934-5560
wcbailey@uab.edu 

Joseph B. Barney, MD
Associate Professor 
Pulmonary Fibrosis, Sarcoidosis, ILD  (205) 975-6770
drbarney@uab.edu 

Gerald Belopolsky, MD
Assistant Professor 
Lung Cancer  (205) 934-0313
geraldb9@uab.edu 

Surya Bhatt, MD
Assistant Professor 
COPD, Lung Mass, EBUS (205) 934-7970
spbhatt@uab.edu

J. Edwin Blalock, PhD
Professor 
Research in Neutrophilic Inflammation (205) 934-6439
blalock@uab.edu

Michael D. Brown, MD
Assistant Professor 
General Pulmonary; ARDS, Lung Cancer  (205) 934-0313
mdbrown@uab.edu 

Scott E. Buchalter, MD
Professor 
General Pulmonary  (205) 996-5732
sbuchalt@uabmc.edu 

Guangjie (Jeff) Cheng, MD
Associate Professor 
Research in NOX Enzymes (205) 975-8919
gjcheng@uab.edu 

J. Allen D. Cooper, Jr., MD
Professor 
COPD, Emphysema, Chronic Bronchitis, Occupational Medicine  (205) 975-8978
allenc@uab.edu

Joao A.M. de Andrade, MD
Associate Professor 
Pulmonary Fibrosis, ILD (205) 975-6770
joao@uab.edu 

Jessy Deshane, PhD 
Assistant Professor 
Research in Inflammatory Diseases  (205) 996-2041
treena@uab.edu 

Enrique Diaz-Guzman, MD 
Associate Professor 
Lung Transplantation (205) 934-7458
diaze@uab.edu

Qiang (John) Ding, PhD
Associate Professor 
Research in Fibroblast Migration  (205) 996-2512
qding@uab.edu 

Mark T. Dransfield, MD 
Associate Director 
COPD, Emphysema, Lung Cancer, Chronic Bronchitis  (205) 975-6770
mdransfield99@msn.com 

Amit Gaggar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor 
Adult CF, Lung Transplant (205) 975-6770
agaggar@uab.edu

Shawn F. Galin, PhD
Associate Professor 
Research in Neutrophils in Chronic Lung Rejection (205) 934-6687
galin@uab.edu

Susan Harding Hawkins, MD 
Professor 
 Sleep/Wake Disorders (205) 934-3742
sharding@uab.edu 

Kathy Harrington, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor 
Health Literacy Issues in Pediatric Asthma (205) 996-5889
kharring@uab.edu

Jack Hasson, MD
Assistant Professor 
General Pulmonary (205) 801-8699
jhasson@uab.edu

Wissam Jaber, MD
Assistant Professor 
Interventional Pulmonary (205) 934-7970
wjaber@uab.edu

Patricia L. Jackson, PhD
Associate Professor 
Research in Proteins and Peptides in Biological/Clinical Samples (205) 934-2622
plj@uab.edu

John I. Kennedy, Jr., MD
Professor 
General Pulmonary (205) 934-7970
john.kennedy2@med.va.gov

John P. Lazenby, MD
Assistant Professor 
Sleep/Wake Disorders (205) 934-3742
laze@uab.edu

Kevin J. Leon, MD
Associate Professor 
Adult CF, Lung Transplant (205) 934-7970
kleon@uab.edu

Gang Liu, MD
Associate Professor 
Research in the role of microRNAs in Pulmonary Inflammation, Hypertension and Fibrosis  (205) 934-7793
gliu@uab.edu

Tracy Luckhardt, MD
Assistant Professor 
Pulmonary Fibrosis, ILD (205) 975-6770
tluck@uab.edu

Philip J. O'Reilly, MD 
Assistant Professor 
COPD, Emphysema, Chronic Bronchitis  (205) 975-6770 
poreilly@uab.edu

Steven M. Rowe, MD, MSPH 
Associate Professor 
Adult CF  (205) 934-9640
smrowe@uab.edu 

Yan Sanders, MD
Assistant Professor
Epigenetics Aspects of Pulmonary Fibrosis and Aging

(205) 975-3521
yans@uab.edu


Chad Steele, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Lung Immunology and Host Defense (205) 996-9598
chadsteele@uab.edu

Jennifer Trevor, MD
Assistant Professor 
General Pulmonary (205) 801-8699
jtrevor@uab.edu

J. Michael Wells, MD
Assistant Professor 
COPD, Asthma, Critical Care, ARDS (205) 975-6770
jmwells@uab.edu

Keith M. Wille, MD, MSPH
Associate Professor 
Lung Transplant, Pulmonary Embolism (205) 934-7970
wille@uab.edu

Yong Zhou, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Research in Myofibroblasts (205) 975-2216
yzhou@uab.edu

Jaroslaw Zmijewski, PhD
Associate Professor 
Research in Inflammation Conditions associate with Organ Dysfunction (205) 934-7792
zmijewsk@uab.edu

SOM Epilogue Menu