Name  Interests Phone & Email
 
Victor J. Thannickal, MD
Professor; Division Director
Pulmonary Fibrosis,Interstitial Lung Disease (205) 975-6376
vjthan@uab.edu
 
 


John T. Anderson, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor 
Asthma, Proximal and Distal Airways (205) 975-6770
janderson@alabamaallergy.com
 

Veena Antony, MD
Professor
Environmental & Occupational Medicine, Cystic Fibrosis, Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis, Mycobacterial Disease, Pleural Disease  (205) 975-3258
vantony@uab.edu 
 

William C. Bailey, MD
Professor Emeritus
Asthma, COPD, Smoking Cessation (205) 934-5560
wcbailey@uab.edu 
 

Hitesh Batra, MD
Assistant Professor
Interventional Pulmonology, Lung Cancer, Plerual Disease, Critical Care (205) 996-1685
hbatra@uabmc.edu
 

Joseph B. Barney, MD
Associate Professor
Pulmonary Fibrosis, Sarcoidosis, Interstitial Lung Disease (205) 975-6770
drbarney@uab.edu 
 

Gerald Belopolsky, MD
Assistant Professor
Lung Cancer  (205) 934-0313
geraldb9@uab.edu 
 

Karen Bernard, PhD
Assistant Professor
Lung Injury-Repair, Myofibroblast Biology (205) 975-6376
kbernard@uab.edu
 

Surya P. Bhatt, MD
Assistant Professor 
COPD (205) 934-7970
sbhatt@uabmc.edu
 

   
Susan Birket, PharmD, PhD
Instructor
CFTR dysfunction, the airway epithelium, and properties of airway mucus in cystic fibrosis.

(205) 934-6076
sbirket@uab.edu
 

J. Edwin Blalock, PhD
Professor
Neutrophilic Inflammation (205) 934-6439
blalock@uab.edu
 

Scott E. Buchalter, MD
Professor
Pulmonary Barotrauma (205) 996-5732
sbuchalt@uabmc.edu 
 

A. Brent Carter, MD
Professor
Interstitial Lung Disease (205) 996-5732
bcarter1@uab.edu 
 

Guangjie (Jeff) Cheng, MD
Associate Professor
NOX Enzymes, Peroxidases, and Lung Host Defenses (205) 975-8919
gjcheng@uab.edu 
 

J. Allen D. Cooper, Jr., MD
Professor
COPD, Emphysema, Chronic Bronchitis, Occupational Medicine  (205) 975-8978
allenc@uab.edu
 

Joao A.M. de Andrade, MD
Associate Professor
Pulmonary Fibrosis, Interstitial Lung Disease (205) 975-6770
joao@uab.edu 


   
Leena Desai, PhD
Instructor
Rho-GTPases, focal adhesion rpteins and non-receptor tyrosine kinases in mechanotransduction of alveolar and bronchial epithelial cells (205) 934-5770
ldesai@uab.edu
 

Jessy Deshane, PhD 
Assistant Professor
Inflammatory Diseases  (205) 996-2041
treena@uab.edu 
 
     
 
Qiang (John) Ding, PhD
Associate Professor
Fibroblast Migration, Myofibroblast Differentiation (205) 996-2512
qding@uab.edu 
 

Mark T. Dransfield, MD 
Associate Professor
COPD, Emphysema, Lung Cancer (205) 975-6770
mdrans99@uab.edu
 

Steven R. Duncan, MD 
Professor
Critical Care Medicine and Pulmonary Medicine (205) 934-5018
duncsr19@uab.edu 
 

Amit Gaggar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Adult Cystic Fibrosis, Lung Transplantation (205) 975-6770
agaggar@uab.edu
 

Shawn F. Galin, PhD
Associate Professor
Neutrophils in Chronic Lung Rejection (205) 934-6687
galin@uab.edu
 

Susan Harding, MD 
Professor Emerita
Sleep/Wake Disorders (205) 934-3742
sharding@uab.edu 
 

Kathy Harrington, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor
Health Literacy Issues in Pediatric Asthma (205) 996-5889
kharring@uab.edu
 

Jack Hasson, MD
Assistant Professor
Asthma, COPD, Dyspnea, Cardiopulmonary Exercise Testing, Pulmonary Artery Hypertension (205) 934-7679
jhasson@uab.edu
 

Patricia L. Jackson, PhD
Associate Professor
Proteins and Peptides in Biological/Clinical Samples (205) 934-2622
plj@uab.edu
 

James E. Johnson, MD
Professor; Clinical Director 
COPD, Dyspnea, Mechanical Ventilation (205) 934-7679
jej@uab.edu


John I. Kennedy, Jr., MD
Professor
General Pulmonary (205) 934-7970
john.kennedy2@med.va.gov
 

Jennifer L. Larson-Casey, Ph.D.
Instructor
Pulmonary Fibrosis, Interstitial Lung Disease (205) 996-1638
jlcasey1@uab.edu
 

John P. Lazenby, MD
Assistant Professor
Critical Care Medicine, Management of Sepsis, Early Warning Systems for Detection of Clinical Deterioration (205) 934-3742
laze@uab.edu
 

Kevin J. Leon, MD
Associate Professor
Adult Cystic Fibrosis, Lung Transplant (205) 934-7970
kleon@uab.edu


   
Fu Jun Li, MD. PhD
Instructor
Heavy metals-induced lung fibrosis; Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS), free radical, antioxidants, antioxidase, lipid peroxidation, and diseases, toxicology of environmental and occupational toxicants (205) 975-1997
fli@uabmc.edu
 

Gang Liu, MD
Associate Professor
MicroRNAs in Pulmonary Inflammation, Hypertension and Fibrosis  (205) 934-7793
gliu@uab.edu
 
Rui-Ming Liu, MD, PhD, DABT
Professor
Oxidative stress, aging, and aging related diseases, IPF and Alzheimer's disease (205) 934-7028
rliu@uab.edu
 

Tracy Luckhardt, MD
Assistant Professor
Pulmonary Fibrosis, Intersitial Lung Disease (205) 975-6770
tluck@uab.edu
 

Moon Nahm, MD
Professor
Adaptive and Innate Immune Responses to Pneumococci and Pneumonia Vaccines (205) 974-0163
nahm@uab.edu
 

Philip J. O'Reilly, MD 
Assistant Professor
COPD, Emphysema, Chronic Bronchitis  (205) 975-6770 
poreilly@uab.edu
 

S. Vamsee Raju, B. Pharm, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathophysiologic Mechanisms of Altered Epithelial Ion Transport (205) 934-9640
svraju@uab.edu
 

Sunad Rangarajan, MD
Instructor
Interstitial Lung Disease (206) 996-2078
sunad@uab.edu
 

Steven M. Rowe, MD, MSPH 
Associate Professor
Adult Cystic Fibrosis (205) 934-9640
smrowe@uab.edu 
 

Yan Sanders, MD
Assistant Professor
Epigenetics Aspects of Pulmonary Fibrosis and Aging (205) 975-3521
yans@uab.edu
 
George "Marty" Solomon, MD
Assistant Professor
Cystic Fibrosis  and non-Cystic Fibrosis bronchiectasis   (205) 996-1685
msolomon@uab.edu
 

W. Steve Stigler, MD
Assistant Professor
Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome, Sepsis, Mechanical Ventilation, Quality Improvement (205) 934-7679
sstigler@uab.edu
 

Chad Steele, PhD
Professor
Lung Immunology and Host Defense (205) 996-9598
chadsteele@uab.edu
 

Jennifer Trevor, MD
Assistant Professor
Asthma (205) 996-0101
jtrevor@uab.edu
 

J. Michael Wells, MD
Assistant Professor
COPD, Asthma, Critical Care, ARDS (205) 975-6770
jmwells@uab.edu
 

Keith M. Wille, MD, MSPH
Associate Professor
Lung Transplant, Pulmonary Embolism (205) 934-7970
wille@uab.edu
 

Xin Xu, MD, PhD, MLS
Assistant Professor
Inflammatory Diseases, Airway Inflammatory Response and Autoimmune Disorder (205) 975-5015
xinx@uab.edu
 

Yong Zhou, PhD
Associate Professor
Pulmonary and Ocular Mechanobiology (205) 975-2216
yzhou@uab.edu
 

Jaroslaw Zmijewski, PhD
Associate Professor
Inflammation Conditions Associated with Organ Dysfunction (205) 934-7792
zmijewsk@uab.edu
 

SOM Epilogue Menu