Explore UAB

43rd Annual Juried Student Exhibition

January 7 - March 7, 2019
Reception and award ceremony, 6 - 8 p.m. Friday, January 11

2019 juried exhibition flyer.

Works by 25 student artists, chosen by a professional artist, will be featured in the 43rd Annual Juried Student Exhibition at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

The artists are students in the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Art and Art History, which coordinated the exhibition. It will open Monday, Jan. 7, in UAB’s Abroms-Engel Institute for the Visual Arts, with a free opening reception and award ceremony from 6-8 p.m. Friday, Jan. 11.

The juried exhibition functions as an experiential learning opportunity for the students of the DAAH. The show is open to all students currently enrolled in courses in the department. Special awards are sponsored by the Friends of the DAAH, Forstall Art Supply, and Alabama Art Supply.

The 43rd Annual Juried Student Exhibition was juried by New Orleans-based collaborative duo Cristina Molina and Jonathan Traviesa. Molina is a visual artist who creates video installations that include still imagery and sculptural forms. She is associate professor of new media and animation at Southeastern Louisiana University. Traviesa is a photographer who has exhibited internationally. He is the winner of the New Orleans Photo Alliance’s inaugural Michael P. Smith Grant Award and currently teaches at Tulane University. Both are members of The Front, an artist-run collective and nonprofit gallery that fosters the development of contemporary art in the city of New Orleans through innovative exhibitions, lectures, screenings, performances and other arts programming.

The artists are Kaitlyn Avery, Laura Benson, Josh Hoggle, Sarah Lee, Thad Mickler, and Macey Miller, all of Birmingham; Quinn Balasz and Evan Franklin, both of Hoover; Leah Juliette Cox and Molly Sinclair Thomas, both of Trussville; Kristina Balciunaite of Panevezys, Lithuania; Emily Cox-Oldham of Fort Payne; Salma Hernandez of Alabaster; Mary Kalusche of Vicksburg, Mississippi; Hunter Lawhon of Hamilton, Alabama; Mary Jo LeCroy of Leeds; Cole Martin of Anniston; Hayley Mikell of Trussville; Caroline Myers of Mobile; Tahseen Robbani of Madison; Paige Sandheinrich of Odenville; Hannah Slatsky of Pleasant Grove; Percii Valerie of Gadsden; Aubrey Venkler of Pell City; and Terrence Wimberly of Colorado Springs, Colorado.

More Exhibitions from 2019