Explore UAB

Arts & Sciences Magazine CAS News October 17, 2017

Renato Camata

Renato Camata, Ph.D., associate professor and undergraduate program director in the Department of Physics, has been named as a recipient of a 2017 UAB Outstanding Academic Advising Award. Camata was recognized at the annual Outstanding Advising Awards ceremony in April, where he was honored by the UAB National Alumni Society and the Committee on Academic Advising. The Committee is comprised of winners from the previous year, as well as selected faculty and staff, who choose a professor who dedicates a significant portion of his time to the advising and mentorship of undergraduate students.

Roger Gilchrist

Roger Gilchrist, Ph.D., an associate professor in the Department of Biology, received the 2017 President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, which honors those who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments in teaching.

During his two decades at UAB, Gilchrist has earned a reputation for being a patient, accessible and exemplary professor. He chairs the CAS Curriculum and Education Policy committee and also developed and continues to teach BY 216, Introduction to Human Pathophysiology, which is unique to UAB.

Samiksha Raut

Samiksha Raut, Ph.D., received the DSS Outstanding Faculty Award in Spring 2017 from the UAB Disability Support Services. Raut, an assistant professor in the Department of Biology, is the advisor for a new disability advocacy group on campus. Her student nominators remarked on her commitment to serving their needs and providing flexibility, consideration, and understanding. The office of DSS selects faculty members to honor after each spring semester. The winners are selected or nominated by students who have had these educators in class and feel they have made accommodations to meet the needs of their students.

Nitesh Saxena

Nitesh Saxena, Ph.D., associate professor and research director in the Department of Computer Science, was named a recipient of the Dean’s Excellence in Mentorship Award from the UAB Graduate School. These awards recognize full-time regular UAB faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments as mentors of graduate students and/or postdoctoral fellows.

Additional faculty awards from the President's and Provost's Offices will be announced in the Spring issue.

More News

  • Hendrix finds the right fit with Master’s in Forensic Science program
  • UAB CORD cancer research program molds future leaders through experience and fostering of community
  • COVID-19 and Queendom: Bobba reflects on a unique collegiate and Blazer experience marked with resilience and community

Back to Top