Excellence in Support of UAB and Shared Governance


The President’s Award for Excellence in Support of UAB and Shared Governance is given to a faculty member, staff member, or student who exemplifies and embodies the UAB core value of unity of purpose through shared governance which propels our institution to achieve excellence in all parts of its mission.

Criteria for Selection

The award criteria include the following:

  • Demonstration of a strong commitment to shared governance and the UAB core value of unity of purpose
  • Demonstration of collaborative dialogue and open communication leading to collective success
  • Ability to work with multiple constituencies and bring about positive change
  • Has not been selected for this award previously


Any member of the student body, faculty, staff, or alumni may make a nomination by completing and submitting, by the announced deadline, a nomination package consisting of:

  1. the attached nomination form
  2. an abbreviated biographical sketch of the nominee, limited to three pages
  3. a maximum of three letters of support

The nomination must clearly demonstrate that the nominee meets the selection criteria and eligibility requirements. An advisory committee composed of administrators, faculty, staff, and students shall review the nominations and advise the President about the strengths of the potential candidates for the award.

The President shall make the final determination of the recipient of the award.

Nomination packages should be emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. on or before 5:00pm September 5, 2018.