In an effort to help the Office of Human Resources better target communications to faculty and staff, UAB is introducing a new workforce classification system for employees.

All employees have been assigned to one of two workgroups — either Workgroup A or Workgroup C — based on their academic/administrative/clinical affiliation. Information that affects workforces individually will be communicated using these classifications in appropriate UAB outlets. and each employee will receive an email that identifies the workgroup to which they belong.

  • Workgroup A includes all faculty positions across the institution (including the School of Medicine); non-clinical School of Medicine staff; staff in all other UAB schools and the College of Arts and Sciences, as well as all UAB administrative departments and the Department of Athletics.
  • Workgroup C includes staff (not faculty) in the School of Medicine who provide direct patient care or do clinical work as a regular part of their job; as well as all staff in the UAB Hospital and Hospital LLC, University of Alabama Health Services Foundation, UAB Health System and Callahan Eye Hospital.

Employees can check their workgroup designation via the UAB Employee Workforce App at Direct questions about your assignment to or your HR contact.

— Published Aug. 16, 2018