Explore UAB

Connect With Us Subscribe to newsletter
Connect With Us Subscribe to newsletter

The following are monthly updates from the UAB Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine Education Division.

Graduation Season

Congratulations to our graduating residents and fellows!

2024 Residents at The Club

 Residents  Fellows
Tyler Luis Abarca, M.D. Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesia 
John Chaeho Ahn, M.D.    Clayton Wood Armstrong, D.O.
 Jordan Gregory Burt, M.D.  Jared Evan Bobulski, M.D., M.S. 
 Justin Boots Cox, M.D.  Elizabeth Ann Mulhern, M.D. 
 Daniel Brian Dix, M.D.  Daniel Joseph Ridley, M.D.
Jamal Kamel Egbaria, M.D.  Garrett James Sutton, M.D. 
 Grant Benson Fortson, M.D. Critical Care Medicine
Casey Alexander Johnson, M.D. Peter Oluwaṣeyitan Bamikọle, M.D.
Cameron Ambrose Mason, M.D. Bibek Devkota, MBBS
Jacob Dean Mayfield, M.D. Matthew Stephen Hull, M.D.
Chelsea Marie McKenzie, M.D. Annamalai Nadarajan, Jr., M.D.
Joseph Isaiah Metzger, M.D. Obstetric Anesthesia
David Andrus Money, M.D. Annalese G. Neuenschwander, M.D.
William Chance Phelps, M.D. Pain Medicine
Andrew William Pickering, M.D. Elizabeth Ernstberger Hiltz, M.D.
Anwar El Zein Shagarabi, M.D. Liver Transplant Anesthesia
J Drake Wakefield, D.O. Matthew Allen Jensen, M.D.
Collier Steadman Williams, M.D., MPH Regional Anesthesia & Acute Pain Medicine
Alexander Matthew Woods, M.D. Andrew Scott Xavier Braun, M.D.
Wesley Wayne Youngblood, M.D.  
Xiao Lu Zhang, D.O., Ph.D.  


Congratulations to the residents and faculty who won awards at the recent resident graduation!

Outstanding Graduate Award
Grant Benson Fortson, M.D.

Residency Program Teacher of the Year
John Charles Briggs, M.D.

Top 10 Teachers
Drs. Andrew Barker, Andre Gosling, Hanna Hussey, Promil Kukreja, Chris Paul, Ben Tuck, Stacy Wade, Brant Wagener, and Emily Wasson

McGahey Award for Excellence in Medical Student Teaching
Andrew Barker, M.D. (faculty)
Savannah Bunnell, M.D. (resident)

Aldrete Award for Excellence in Pain Medicine
Erin MacKenzie Katz, M.D.

Boudreaux Award for Quality and Patient Safety
Joseph Isaiah Metzger, M.D.

Cardiac Anesthesia Outstanding Graduate Award
Grant Benson Fortson, M.D.

Chestnut Award for Excellence in Obstetric Anesthesia
Xiao Lu Zhang, D.O., Ph.D.

Defalque Award for Outstanding Performance in Regional Anesthesia
Chelsea Marie McKenzie, M.D.

Mathru Award for Excellence in Critical Care Medicine
Daniel Brian Dix, M.D.

Outstanding Pediatric Anesthesiology Graduate Award
Cameron Mason, M.D.

Trauma Award
Allison Johnson, M.D.

New Interns

We welcomed 21 interns this month who have completed their many orientation activities and begun clinical rotations. Residents are oriented to MedHub by residency and curriculum team members (Victoria Elison, Carol Anne Hopper, and Diane Vakakes) so that they can use it to complete evaluations and record work hours. Diane Vakakes explained Perioperative Medicine Block (PMB) schedules, and Dr. Harold Goss provided an orientation to library services and all anesthesiology education resources. Central line training is provided online and in-person by members of our departmental simulation team (led by Simulation Director Dr. Jim Hunter and Associate Director Andrea Hammett, M.S., R.N.). A welcome event was hosted by Drs. Tekuila Carter and Paul Piennette on June 12 for the new interns and their significant others, allowing the class to begin to get to know each other.

Conference Attendance

Drs. Harold Goss and Lee Ann Riesenberg attended the Association for Hospital Medical Education annual meeting.

Fellowship Updates

The Pain Medicine Fellowship completed interviews in June and is planning for a second look visit in August. Additionally, all five accredited fellowships have held their semiannual Clinical Competency Committee meetings and program evaluation meetings.

Residency News

Kofskey AlexCongratulations to Dr. Alex Kofskey who was voted president of the Graduate Medical Education Resident House Staff Council for this upcoming academic year.

The end-of-year Clinical Competency Committee met in preparation for submission of reports to the ABA and the ACGME. Thanks to Dr. Blake Norman and Victoria Elison for this important work.