Explore UAB

Connect With Us Subscribe to newsletter
Connect With Us Subscribe to newsletter

Routman JustinSquareThe following message was sent on behalf of Dan Berkowitz, M.D.

Dear Colleagues,

After a rigorous search committee process, it is with great pleasure that the UAB Heersink School of Medicine Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine announces the appointment of Justin Routman, M.D., MSHA, as the associate vice chair for the Division of Multispecialty Anesthesia.

Dr. Routman attended medical school at UAB and completed his residency at the University of Michigan. He started his career with a private practice group in Birmingham, and then transitioned to academic faculty as an assistant professor at UAB in May 2019.

As many of you know, Dr. Routman is currently the medical director of NORA, where he has successfully operationalized several service lines—including outpatient endoscopy, proton radiation therapy, hydrotherapy, and a hybrid intraoperative MRI suite—amounting to nearly 11,000 new cases annually. He has collaborated to generate a 25% increase in non-OR anesthesia volume over four years, constituting more than 40% of total anesthetic volume at UAB. Dr. Routman earned his Master of Science in Health Administration at UAB in 2022 and is certified as a Lean Six Sigma Green Belt.

I want to thank the selection committee (led by Dr. Pam Varner) for their service, time, and assistance. The candidates for this position are highly qualified leaders, demonstrating the potential and capability of our faculty. We are excited for the future!

Dr. Routman excels in his commitment to the organization, strategic thinking, innovative problem-solving, and collaborative efforts in patient care. We look forward to his partnership with Dr. Bert Pierce to serve the MSA faculty, our department, and perioperative services. Please join me in congratulating Dr. Routman in his new role.

Dan E. Berkowitz, M.D.
Alfred Habeeb Professor and Chair
UAB Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine
Heersink School of Medicine