Displaying items by tag: leadership

Michael Mugavero, M.D., has been chosen as the new associate dean for Clinical and Translational Research, effective July 1, 2024.
Mona Fouad, M.D., MPH, senior associate dean for Diversity and Inclusion in the Heersink School of Medicine and director of the Minority Health and Health Equity Research Center, has been elected to the National Institutes of Health’s Advisory Committee to the Director (ACD) Working Group on Diversity.
Jason K. Daniel, MBA, has been appointed senior executive officer for Finance and Administration in the UAB Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine, effective Sept. 1.
Brian Samuels, M.D., Ph.D., has been appointed chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, effective Oct. 1.
Jason K. Daniel, MBA, vice president of Physician Practice Administration for UAB Health System and University of Alabama Health Services Foundation, has been named the 2023 Will Ferniany Academic Medicine Leadership Award recipient.
In the last several years, UAB Medicine and Heersink School of Medicine have worked to bring leadership development to faculty and staff through the UAB Medicine Institute for Leadership and Momentum in Medicine programs.
Will Brooks, Ph.D., has been named assistant dean for Preclinical Education in the UAB Heersink School of Medicine, a new position created to support the delivery of active and engaging instruction in the preclinical modules.