October 04, 2022

Faculty recognized at Endowed Chairs and Professorships Reception

Written by

Anupam Agarwal, M.D., interim dean of the Heersink School of Medicine, welcomed faculty members and their families to the Endowed Chairs and Professorships Reception on Sept. 29. Leaders from the Heersink School of Medicine joined the faculty honorees and their families to celebrate their endowed chairs and professorships.

“This reception symbolizes a moment when inspiration is turned into action by individuals who are driving a better world,” said Agarwal. “In the same way that I am grateful to our donors, I am so proud of the faculty we are honoring today.”

Endowed chairs and professorships give donors the chance to link their names to an area of special interest within the university. Some choose to direct their gifts—to endow a chair or professorship in the academic discipline that inspired them, to create scholarships or fellowships for deserving students, or to support medical research of particular importance to them.

“Each of today’s honorees are contributing to life-changing medicine and research daily. They work tirelessly to offer advances in their fields as well as in prevention, care, therapeutics, and discovery,” said Agarwal.

Recipients were honored and donors who have created or contributed to the endowed chairs and professorships were recognized. Following the awards, the honored faculty members stayed for group pictures and enjoyed light refreshments with the other guests.

The faculty recognized for new endowed chairs and professorships include:

Orlando M. Gutierrez, M.D., M.M. Sc.
Marie S. Ingalls Endowed Chair in Nephrology Leadership

Anindya Dutta, MBBS, Ph.D.
Endowed Professorship in Genetics

Sunil Sudarshan, M.D.
Anderson Family Endowed Chair in Urology

Shu G. Chen, Ph.D
Ona M. Faye-Petersen Endowed Professorship in Pathology

Vu Q.C. Nguyen, M.D., MBA
Robert B. Kyle Professorship in Rehabilitation Medicine

Andrea Lynne Cherrington, M.D., Ph.D.
Triton Endowed Professorship in Health Equity Research

Timmy C. Lee, M.D.
David G. Warnock, M.D., Endowed Professorship in Academic Nephrology

Alan Thevenet N. Tita, M.D., Ph.D.
Mary Heersink Endowed Chair in Global Health

Nita A. Limdi, Pharm.D., Ph.D., MSPH, FAHA
Ray L. Watts, M.D., Heersink Endowed Chair in Neurology

Jeremy J. Day, Ph.D.
Michael Friedlander, Ph.D., Heersink Endowed Professorship

Han-Fei Ding, M.D., Ph.D.
Gene P. Siegal Endowed Professorship in Pathology

Elizabeth E. Brown, Ph.D., MPH
Endowed Professorship in Cancer Pathobiology

Michael J. Hanaway, M.D.
Martha Robinson Tankersley Endowed Professorship in Transplant Clinical Excellence

Amit Gaggar, M.D., Ph.D.
William C. Bailey, M.D., Endowed Chair in Pulmonary Disease

Luciano Costa, M.D., Ph.D.
The Mary and Bill Battle Endowed Professorship for Multiple Myeloma

Erwin G. Van Meir, Ph.D.
David Hart White Endowed Professorship for Brain Cancer Research