May 01, 2023

Faculty recognized at Endowed Chairs and Professorships Reception

Written by

2023 Spring Endowed Chairs ProfessorshipsAnupam Agarwal, M.D., dean of the Heersink School of Medicine, welcomed faculty members and their families to the Endowed Chairs and Professorships Reception on April 25. Leaders from the Heersink School of Medicine joined the faculty honorees and their families to celebrate their endowed chairs and professorships.

Endowed chairs and professorships give donors the chance to link their names to an area of special interest within the university. Some choose to direct their gifts—to endow a chair or professorship in the academic discipline that inspired them, to create scholarships or fellowships for deserving students, or to support medical research of particular importance to them.

Recipients were honored and donors who have created or contributed to the endowed chairs and professorships were recognized. Following the awards, the honored faculty members stayed for group pictures and enjoyed light refreshments with the other guests.

The faculty recognized for new endowed chairs and professorships include:

Ray L. Watts, M.D.
Charles S. Ackerman Endowed Professorship in Parkinson’s Disease

Michelle Gray, Ph.D.
Jarman F. Lowder Endowed Professorship in Neuroscience

Edie R. Hapner, Ph.D.
George W. Barber, Jr., Foundation Professorship in Otolaryngology

C. Blake Simpson, M.D.
Abroms Endowed Professorship for the Department of Otolaryngology

Michael J. Mugavero, M.D.
Jeanne M. Marrazzo, M.D., M.P.H., Endowed Professorship in Innovation and Advancement through Mentorship

Bassel El-Rayes, M.D.
Albert F. LoBuglio Endowed Chair for Translational Cancer Research

Amit Gaggar, M.D., Ph.D.
William C. Bailey, M.D., Endowed Chair in Pulmonary Disease

Surya P. Bhatt, M.D., MSPH
Endowed Professorship in Airways Disease

Luciano Costa, M.D., Ph.D.
Mary and Bill Battle Endowed Professorship for Multiple Myeloma

Renee Heffron, Ph.D., MPH
Jim Straley Endowed Chair in AIDS Research

Erwin G. Van Meir, Ph.D.
David Hart White Endowed Professorship for Brain Cancer Research

Farah D. Lubin, Ph.D.
Triton Endowed Professorship in Neurobiology

David A. Schneider, Ph.D.
Louise T. Chow, Ph.D.-Heersink Endowed Chair in Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Suzanne E. Lapi, Ph.D.
Emmet O’Neal II Endowed Professorship in Lung Cancer Research

Karen L. Gamble, Ph.D.
E. Cleveland Kinney Endowed Chair in Geriatric Psychiatry

Karen Cropsey, Psy.D.
Kathy Ireland Endowed Chair for Psychiatric Research

Lewis Z. Shi, M.D., Ph.D.
Koikos-Petelos-Jones-Bragg ROAR Endowed Professorship for Cancer Research

Brant Wagener, M.D., Ph.D.
Simon Gelman Endowed Professorship in Anesthesiology

See photos from the event below or click here to see all reception photos.