Hospital Medicine 2018 

The UAB Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine is committed to providing compassionate, comprehensive, and evidence-based care to children who are admitted to Children’s of Alabama. The division directly cares for roughly one-third of the patients who are admitted, which amounts to about 5,500 admissions per year. Pediatric hospital medicine (PHM) faculty are attending physicians for a general inpatient service that serves acutely ill children from the community as well as complex care patients and patients that are followed by subspecialties including neurology, rheumatology, rehabilitation medicine, dermatology, infectious diseases, immunology and allergy, genetics, and some surgical subspecialties. Faculty in this division are medical directors for three acute care nursing units and the Special Care Unit, our ICU-step down unit.

In addition to the commitment to high-quality patient care, PHM faculty are invested in the education of fellows, residents and medical students. The PHM division received the award for “Best Teaching Rotation” from the 2019 graduating class of residents. Division faculty members are recognized leaders in local and national education, quality improvement and patient safety initiatives, and medical informatics development. 

The Hospitalist program at UAB/Children's of Alabama was created in 1998 and transitioned to become the Division of Hospital Medicine with faculty that have expertise in clinical care, teaching, well-being, advocacy and clinical and QI research. 


Division Director

Erin Shaughnessy, M.D.

Faculty List

Hospital Medicine Faculty

Awards and Recognition

  • Awards and Recognition

    Awards and Recognition


    Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Accreditation for the UAB Hospital Medicine Fellowship Program
    Department of Pediatrics Lifetime Achievement Award in Pediatric Healthcare - Dr. Robert Pass
    Department of Pediatrics Educational Achievement Award for junior faculty - Dr. Adolfo Molina
    Department of Pediatrics Faculty Excellence in Service Achievement Award - Dr. Susan Walley
    Argus Award for Best Career Advisor-Dr. Stephanie Berger
    Ralph E. Tiller, MD Distinguished Faculty Award-Dr. Erinn Schmit


    Best Teaching Rotation Award given by residents to PHM Division, 2019


    UAB Becky Trigg Outstanding Woman Faculty Member 2018 - Dr. Susan Walley
    Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award 2018 - Dr. Stephanie Berger


    Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award 2016 - Dr. Lauren Nassetta

  • Leadership and Scholarship

    Leadership and Scholarship

    National & Regional
    • Chair, American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Section on Tobacco Control- Dr. Susan Walley

    • Co-Chair, Pediatric Hospital Medicine national conference 2020- Dr. Erin Shaughnessy

    • Co-Chair, Academic Pediatric Association Region 8 - Dr. Chang Wu

    • Co-Chair, Academic Pediatric Association Global Health Interest Group - Dr. Meghan Hofto

    • Co-Chair, APA Hospital Medicine Special Interest Group-Dr. Erin Shaughnessy

    • PHM representative, Council on Pediatric Specialties – Dr. Erin Shaughnessy

    • Faculty speaker, AAP Julius Richmond Center of Excellence - Dr. Susan Walley

    • AAP PREP Hospital Medicine Editorial Board - Dr. Susan Walley

    • Deputy Editor for Reviews and Perspectives at the Journal of Hospital Medicine- Erin Shaughnessy

    • Mentoring Taskforce, Association of Pediatric Program Directors - Dr. Lauren Nassetta

    • Site Principal Investigator for multi-institutional study: Assessment of Alternative Approaches for Delivering Video-Based Learning Utilizing the Flipped-Classroom Method in the Pediatric Clerkship - Dr. Stephanie Berger

    • Site Principal Investigators for multi-institutional randomized controlled trial, Kawasaki Disease Comparative Effectiveness Trial (KIDCARE) - Drs. Samuy and Scalici

    • Site Principal Investigator, multisite Pediatric Resident Burnout-Resilience Study Consortium- Dr. Lauren Nassetta

    • American Academy of Pediatrics representative and medical expert for the Congressional Caucus to End the Youth Vaping Epidemic-Dr. Susan Walley

    • Innovation’s Academy “Train The Trainer” participant- Dr. Stephanie Berger

    • Principal Investigator, Alabama Department of Public Health Youth Tobacco Prevention Program - Dr. Susan Walley

    University and Health System
    • Tobacco Consult Service, Heersink School of Medicine - Dr. Susan Walley

    • Co-Director of Pediatrics Clerkship - Dr. Stephanie Berger

    • Lead Mentor, Learning Community, Heersink School of Medicine - Dr. Stephanie Berger

    • Faculty Advisor, Honor Council, Heersink School of Medicine - Dr. Lauren Nassetta

    • Course Co-Director; Patient, Doctor, Society Course; Heersink School of Medicine - Dr. Stephanie Berger

    • PHM Fellowship, two fellows per year for 2-3 years; ACGME accredited

    • Associate Residency Program Director - Dr. Lauren Nassetta

    • Program Director of Grand Rounds, Continuing Medical Education - Dr. Erinn Schmit

    • QI Director for Pediatric Residency Program - Dr. Susan Walley

    • Chair, Faculty Wellbeing Committee - Dr. Lauren Nassetta

    • Co-Director UAB Department of Pediatrics Science Day - Dr. Chang Wu

    • Co-Director, Injury prevention and child advocacy for residency program - Dr. Cassi Smola

    • Co-Director, Coat of Arms, Resident advocacy and outreach group - Dr. Cassi Smola

    • Chair, Continuing Medical Education Committee - Dr. Susan Walley

    • Medical director, Special Care Unit - Dr. Paul Scalici

    • Medical directors, Dearth Tower Acute Care Units - Drs. Berger and Wu

    • Medical Director, Clinical Documentation Improvement Department - Dr. Paul Scalici

    • Physician Champion, COA’s “Heroes for Zero” High Reliability executive task force - Dr. Chang Wu

    • Development of Care Pathways for Bronchiolitis, Asthma, and Diabetic Ketoacidosis, multiple faculty members

    • Chair, Utilization Review committee - Dr. Paul Scalici

    • Chair, Infant Safe Sleep Taskforce - Dr. Erinn Schmit

    • Chair, Insulin Safety Taskforce - Dr. Lauren Nassetta

    • Chair and Vice-Chair, IV Fluids Taskforce - Drs. Schmit and Nassetta

    • Development and ownership of about 1/3 of inpatient electronic order sets, multiple faculty members, led by Drs. Casey and Nassetta