IMG 1293 2

The UAB Department of Radiation Oncology includes 22 clinical faculty members and 17 Medical Physicists who are involved in a variety of leadership roles. Our faculty are also involved in clinical trial design with the NRG Oncology Foundation and Proton Collaborative Group, in addition to designing institutional research protocols.

In our department, our faculty offer residents mentoring in clinical learning, research endeavors, and career direction. They also teach throughout our didactic sessions, and regularly participate in our departmental conferences, journal clubs, and multidisciplinary tumor boards.

Learn more about our faculty and their clinical and research expertise.

Our Chair

Bonner UAB Radiation Oncology

James A. Bonner, M.D.

Merle M. Salter Endowed Professor and Chairman
UAB Health Services Foundation Immediate Past President

Areas of Interest:
Head and neck, metastatic disease

Our Associate Program Director and Vice Chair for Medical Physics

Popple Crop

Richard Popple, Ph.D.

Director of Medical Physics

Vice Chair for Medical Physics
Head of Treatment and Delivery
Medical Physics Residency Associate Program Director

Our Program Director

Rodney Sullivan Crop

Rodney Sullivan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medical Physics Residency Program Director


Medical Physicists

AlexandrianBELLIVEAU 2Ivan BrezovichCardan 1

Cardan 1Elizabeth CovingtonIqbalRS32398 James Kraus 6 SM
Prem PareekRichard PoppleShi Shenplaceholder
Dennis Stanley 1Rodney SullivanXingen James Wu 2