Explore UAB

Strategic Retreat 2022 digital

The UAB Department of Radiation Oncology includes 16 clinical faculty members who are involved in a variety of leadership roles, including American Board of Radiology (ABR) board examiners and leaders for development of national treatment guidelines for the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN). Our faculty are also involved in clinical trial design with the NRG Oncology Foundation and Proton Collaborative Group, in addition to designing institutional research protocols.

In our department, our faculty offer residents mentoring in clinical learning, research endeavors, and career direction. They also teach throughout our didactic sessions, and regularly participate in our departmental conferences, journal clubs, and multidisciplinary tumor boards.

Learn more about our faculty and their clinical and research expertise.


Bonner UAB Radiation Oncology

James A. Bonner, M.D.

Merle M. Salter Endowed Professor and Chairman
UAB Health Services Foundation Immediate Past President

Areas of Interest:
Head and neck, metastatic disease

Vice Chair for Academic Programs

John Fiveash

John B. Fiveash, M.D.

Senior Vice Chair for Academic Programs
Robert Y. Kim Outstanding Educator Endowed Chair

Areas of Interest:
Brain, Central Nervous System, Metastatic disease

Program Directors

Andrew McDonald

Andrew McDonald, M.D.

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest:
GI, GU, Head and Neck, Metastatic disease



MARCROM 2022Samuel Marcrom, M.D. 

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest:
Central nervous system, Sarcoma, Gynecological, Genitourinary, Head and neck, Brachytherapy, Proton therapy