Research Faculty

  • Bonner, James A., M.D.

    Bonner uab radiation oncology chairman

    Merle M. Salter Endowed Professor and Chairman
    UAB Health Services Foundation Immediate Past President

    Areas of Interest:
    Head & Neck

  • Bredel, Markus, M.D., Ph.D.

    Markus Bredel 2

    Sharon A. Spencer Distinguished Endowed Chair in Translational Radiation Oncology
    Director of Functional Brain Radiosurgery and Head of Brain Tumor Research
    Deputy Associate Director for Translational Research-UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Areas of Interest:
    Breast, Central Nervous System (CNS)

  • Buchsbaum, Donald, Ph.D.

    donald buchsbaum uab radiation oncology

    Professor Emeritus

  • Fiveash, John, M.D.

    John Fiveash UAB radiation oncology

    Senior Vice Chair 
    Robert Y. Kim Outstanding Educator Endowed Chair

    Areas of Interest:
    Central Nervous System (CNS), Proton Therapy

  • McDonald, Andrew, M.D.

    Andrew McDonald uab radiation oncologyAssistant Professor
    Director, Radiation Oncology Residency Program
    Member, Institute for Cancer Outcomes and Survivorship

    Areas of Interest:
    Gastrointestinal (GI), Genitourinary (GU)

  • Pfister, Neil T., M.D., Ph.D.

    PfisterAssistant Professor
    Physician Scientist

    Areas of Interest
    Gastrointestinal (GI) & Hepatopancreatobiliary, Lung, Lymphoma, Metastatic Disease, Proton Therapy

  • Popple, Richard, Ph.D.

    Richard Popple uab radiation oncology

    Professor and Assistant Vice Chair for Medical Physics
    Director, Medical Physics Division

    Head of Treatment Design and Delivery
    Associate Director, Medical Physics Residency Program

    Areas of Interest: 
    Medical physics

  • Shi, Lewis Zhichang MD, Ph.D.

    Headshot of Dr. Lewis Shi, PhD (Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology - Preclinical Research) in white medical coat, September 2022.Associate Professor
    Director of Radiobiology
    Koikos-Petelos-Jones-Bragg ROAR Endowed Professor for Cancer Research at UAB

    Areas of Interest:
    Metabolic Regulation of Cancer Immunotherapy
    Immunomodulatory Effects of Radiation

  • Willey, Christopher, M.D., Ph.D.

    Headshot of Dr. Christopher Willey, MD (Professor, Radiation Oncology) in white medical coat, October 2022.

    Hale-Stephens ROAR Endowed Professor for Distinctive Research

    Associate Vice Chair of Translational Research

    Areas of Interest:
    Central Nervous System (CNS), Head & Neck

  • Zhang, Zhuo M.D., Ph.D.

     Zhuo Zhang uab radiation oncologyAssistant Professor