Explore UAB

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Eckhoff Thank You 1On May 31, 2020 Devin E. Eckhoff, M.D. will officially depart the UAB Department of Surgery after more than 25 years of service. He will join the faculty of the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) as the Transplant Institute director, a professor and the Peter Medawar Endowed Chair of Transplantation.

Dr. EckhoffEckhoff joined the faculty at UAB in 1994, and served as the director of the Division of Transplantation in the Department of Surgery at UAB from 2003-2019. Eckhoff and Professor Emeritus of Transplant Nephrology Robert Gaston, M.D., spearheaded the planning process of the Comprehensive Transplant Institute (CTI). Eckhoff leaves active leadership roles with the Legacy of Hope (LOH), serving as medical director of LOH since 2004, and the Xenotransplant Program, serving as surgical director since 2016.

Eckhoff has always valued recruiting and training bright minds for the growth of the division. He initiated the Abdominal Transplant Fellowship Program in 2010, where he served as director of the fellowship program for three years. Since its inception, the program has graduated 13 surgeons from one of the nation’s busiest transplant centers.

“Within the Division of Transplantation, we truly have a wonderful clinical and academic division, one of the best in the nation. The division- and UAB- has been fortunate to have been able to provide the environment for the recruitment and development talented faculty. Throughout my years here, transplantation has always been a team sport, and it has been an honor to work with outstanding colleagues within other departments such as transplant nephrology, hepatology, radiology and infectious disease,” said Eckhoff.