Dr. Sam Baker and Dr. Daniel CoxAt the UAB Department of Emergency Medicine resident graduation, Department of Surgery Resident Samantha Baker, M.D. and Division of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery Professor Daniel Cox, M.D., were named the 2022 UAB Emergency Medicine Resident and Faculty Consultant, respectively.

The annual awards are voted on by emergency medicine residents in the hopes of recognizing dedication to outstanding patient care and contribution to resident education. The recipients are generally from other UAB departments and exemplify excellence in medical education, bedside teaching, and modeling of professionalism and collegiality. With a Trauma and Acute Care Surgery faculty member winning this award three out of the last four years, Cox is proud to be part of the legacy. 

“It’s an honor to be recognized by this outstanding class of EM residents,” Cox said. “It’s been a privilege working with them in the trauma bay and trauma/burn ICU over the last 3 years and I look forward to seeing them continue to excel as they begin the next phase of their careers in Emergency Medicine.”

Managing a high-volume, tertiary care emergency department involves the expertise of many specialists, so the core UAB value of collaboration is always welcome. Award recipients demonstrate the ability to thrive in a collaborative environment that is inherently fast-paced and stressful while also showing dedication to patients and commitment to resident education.

“I wish to congratulate Dr. Baker on being named this year’s recipient of UAB Emergency Medicine's Resident Consultant of the Year award. This annual award is voted on by the Emergency Medicine residents in the hopes of recognizing dedication to outstanding patient care, professionalism, and collegiality,” said Department of Emergency Medicine Residency Program Director Charles Khoury, M.D., MSHA.