UAB College of Arts and Sciences announces scholarships

The University of Alabama at Birmingham's College of Arts and Sciences has awarded scholarships to the following UAB students and recent graduates:

Collegewide Scholarships, George F. and Gladys Brockman, IV Endowed Scholarship - Mallick Hossain, sophomore from Rainbow City

Dean's Leadership Scholarship - Ingrid Pfau, senior from Birmingham

The UAB National Alumni Society Dean's Scholarship -Toral Patel, senior from Mobile; Logan Talbort, senior from Gadsden

God at the Speed of Light Scholarship - Noora Siddiqui, freshman from Harvest; Jessica Swinea, sophomore from Rogersville; Pia Marie Cumagun, junior from Evergreen; Bonnie-Kim Haug, senior from Arab

Tennant and Susan McWilliams Scholarship - Bradley James Watts, junior from Springville

Jane White Mulkin Endowed Scholarship - Sally Sperling, sophomore from Thomasville

Lauren McLellan Sanders Endowed Scholarship - Judah Warren, senior from Pell City

Department of Art and Art History

Art Department Senior Scholarship - Jonathan Gann, senior from Enterprise; Jacqueline Stafford, senior from Rainbow City

John Dillon Endowed Scholarship - Ashley Lindsey, senior from Pell City; Hayley MacMillian, senior from Huntsville

Edith Frohock Memorial Scholarship - Laurin Humphries, junior from Jasper

Kluge/Langley Endowed Scholarship - Emily Johnson, graduate from Homewood

John Schnorrenberg Endowed Scholarship - Nicholas Payne, senior from Oneonta

Ellen Shizuko Takahashi Endowed Award - Jessica Patmon, graduate from Clay

Bernice Cook Thomas Endowed Scholarship in Art and Art History - Dawn Coleman, senior from Birmingham

Dr. Klaus Urban Endowed Scholarship in Art and Art History - Linda Wallinder Pierini, graduate from Birmingham

Marie Weaver and Steve Harvey Endowed Scholarship for Graphic Design - Cana Grooms, junior from Trussville


Department of Biology

Anne Cusic Scholarship in Biology - Pia Marie Cumagun, junior from Evergreen

Luke Gallegher Scholarship in Biology - Torel Patel, senior from Mobile


Department of Communication Studies

Mary Anne Amsbary Endowed Award - Bethany Mitchell, junior from Huffman

Byron St. Dizier Endowed Journalism Scholarship - Crystal Carr of New Orleans, La.

James E.  Mills Scholarship Fund - Heather Caygle, senior from Trussville

Trotter Endowed Scholarship - Hector DeSimone, junior from West Blocton; Blair Granger, junior from Columbiana

Dr. John Wittig Public Relations Alumni Endowed Presidential Scholarship - Robyn Weston, senior from Birmingham; Sunshine Scott, senior from Birmingham


Department of Computer and Information Science

Anthony and Barbara Barnard Endowed Support Fund - Robert Podubynskyj, freshman from Wilsonville; Cooper Filby, freshman from Richmond Hill, Ga.

Joseph M. Fontana Memorial Scholarship - Oluwatosin Sodiepe, sophomore from Tuscaloosa; Alexander Filby, junior from Birmingham

Warren and Bobbie Jones Endowed Award for Excellence - This award will be used for students to travel to the ACM Programming Contest in fall 2010.

Joyce Iannuzzi Endowed Presidential Scholarship for Computer Science and Technology - Leah Mosely, senior from Mobile


Department of English

Gloria Goldstein Howton Scholarship Endowment Fund - Shan Sheikh, senior from Birmingham and Laura Clements, graduate student from Trafford

Phillips High School Scholarship - Hannah Sanders, junior from Carbon Hill

Grace Lindsley Waits Scholarship - Tim MacKay, junior from Indian Springs Village


Department of History

David Hart White Fund Prize in History - Kaye Nail, graduate from Dora


Department of Justice Sciences

Pre-Law Advisory Board Scholarships - Grady Lowman and Jacob Dawes from Huntsville


Department of Mathematics

Kauffman Endowed Scholarship in Mathematics - Jacob Chapman, graduate student from Birmingham

O'Neil Endowed Scholarship in Mathematics - Catherine Case, senior from Jacksonville

James C. and Carol Warner Endowed Scholarship - Joseph Austin Lovvorn, freshman from Hoover

Travis B. Wood Memorial Mathematics Scholarship - Melody Brinson, senior from Leeds; Bonnie-Kim Hang, senior from Arab


Department of Physics

Robert and Edith Bauman Endowed Scholarship in Physics - Sergey Antipenko, senior from Montgomery


Department of Psychology

Passey Psychology Prize - Sandhya Kumar, graduate from Huntsville


Department of Sociology and Social Work

Ferris S., Sr. and Annie P. Ritchey Endowed Scholarship in Sociology - Ceylan Engin, junior from Birmingham


Department of Theatre

Ruby Lloyd Apsey Scholarship Fund - Amanda Murrah of Huntsville, Whitney N. Rooks of Centre, Julia L. Springs of Alabaster, Olivia Standridge of Birmingham, Ariel E. Taunton of Montgomery, Leisa Thomas of Gardendale, James E. York of Florence and Haley Zuckerman of Hoover, Trevor Gourley of New York, N.Y. and Charles E. Moncrief of Atlanta, Ga.

David Lloyd Memorial Scholarship Endowment - Kristie Crumly of Centreville, Marc A. Dolan of Opelika, Noah I. Holcomb of Empire, Leanna R. Huebner of Owens Cross Roads, Anissa D. Jones of Birmingham, Jereme Lewis of Enterprise and Daniel Martin of Trinity