Endowed scholarships in optometry established

Among the scholarships are one created by Dean Rod Nowakowski, O.D., and Debi Nowakowski, Ph.D.

The University of Alabama System Board of Trustees approved the creation of the Dr. Kristine B. Hopkins Vision Therapy Endowed Optometry Scholarship, the Drs. Rod and Debi Nowakowski Endowed Optometry Scholarship, and the Dr. Aharon Sternberg Endowed Scholarship in Optometry in the School of Optometry at University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) during its meeting April 12, 2013. Hopkins earned her bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from UAB and served as associate professor and chief of vision therapy services. Rod Nowakowski, O.D., is dean of the School of Optometry, and Debi Nowakowski, Ph.D., earned her master and doctoral degrees from the School of Education. Sternberg earned bachelor and doctoral degrees from UAB.