Zachary Hughes, Deidra Atkinson named Mr. and Ms. UAB 2013

The Mr. and Ms. UAB Scholarship Competition, sponsored by the UAB National Alumni Society, awards two outstanding students $2,500 scholarships.

Zachary Hughes of White House, Tenn., and Deidra Atkinson of Bay Minette, Ala., were named Mr. and Ms. UAB 2013 at the University of Alabama at BirminghamHomecoming game Saturday, Nov. 2, at Legion Field. Each winner received a $2,500 scholarship and will represent UAB, the UAB National Alumni Society and the UAB Student Alumni Society at events throughout the year and serve as spokespeople. First alternates Andrew Eubanks and Sarah Terry received $1,000 scholarships.

MMUAB-Winners sThe Mr. and Ms. UAB Scholarship Competition is sponsored by the UAB National Alumni Society. The 32-year-old program recognizes outstanding students who have demonstrated scholastic achievement, campus and community involvement, leadership, and overall enthusiasm for UAB. The finalists were selected through two rounds of interviews and a student vote, which was held during Homecoming week.

Atkinson is a senior majoring in biomedical engineering with minors in both mathematics and chemistry. She is a member of the Science and Technology Honors Program, the Biomedical Engineering Society, and the National Society of Black Engineers. Atkinson is also a Wells Fargo Scholar and a volunteer with Students for a Healthier Community. She is the daughter of Vincent and Edith Atkinson.

Hughes is a junior majoring in chemistry. He received the Apollo Award for most well-rounded member from Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity and is a recipient of the Blazer Elite Scholarship, a UAB orientation leader, a member of the Experiential Learning Scholars Program and a volunteer at the Exceptional Foundation. He is the son of Rick and Mochelle Hughes. First alternate Eubanks is a senior from Atlanta, Ga., majoring in nursing with a minor in Spanish. He is a UAB Emerging Leaders Scholarship recipient, is an Aaron Lamar Jr. Scholarship recipient and was a UAB cheerleader from 2010 to 2012. He is chaplain of the UAB Ambassador Program and a volunteer translator for UAB Students for a Healthier Community. He is the son of James and Lynne Eubanks.

First alternate Terry is a junior from Johns Creek, Ga., majoring in neuroscience with minors in chemistry and psychology. She has been named to the President’s List, received the Excellence in Organic Chemistry Award for 2012-13 and is a volunteer with the Exceptional Foundation. Terry is a member of the Science and Technology Honors Program and Alpha Omicron Pi. She is the daughter of Mark and Diane Terry.

The other finalists include:

  • Emily Bray, a junior from Harvest, Ala., majoring in nursing

  • Clarissa Deal, a senior from Montgomery, Ala., majoring in medical industrial distribution

  • Weslie Shannon, a sophomore from Murfreesboro, Tenn., majoring in political science and international studies 

  • Jordan Boston, a junior from Holtville, Ala., majoring in chemistry

  • Ali Massoud, a junior from Cairo, Egypt, majoring in international studies with a French minor

  • Ethan Tibbs, a senior from Hoover, Ala., majoring in biomedical engineering