Four UAB faculty elected Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology

The American Academy of Microbiology has elected University of Alabama at Birmingham’s David M. Bedwell, Ph.D., William J. Britt, M.D., George M. Shaw, M.D., Ph.D., and Charles L. Turnbough Jr., Ph.D. to Fellowship.

Bedwell and Turnbough are professors in the Department of Microbiology. Britt is a professor in the Department of Pediatrics. Shaw is a professor in the Division of Hematology and Oncology. They are four of 78 microbiologists elected this year.

Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-reviewed process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. There are now more than 2,500 Fellows representing all subspecialties of microbiology, including basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry and government service.