Students named U.S. Department of Transportation fellows

Four graduate students in UAB’s College of Arts and Sciences have been awarded a Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Research fellowship through the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Trip Lab StreamFrom left to right: Gabriela Sherrod, Austin Svancara, Alecia Mercier and Grace Albright
Photography: Lexi Coon
The United States Department of Transportation’s Federal Highway Administration has awarded four graduate students from the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s College of Arts and Sciences a 2021-2022 Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Research fellowship.

Grace Albright, Alecia Mercier, Gabriela Sherrod and Austin Svancara are graduate students in the UAB Translational Research for Injury Prevention Lab under the mentorship of Despina Stavrinos, Ph.D., associate professor in the UAB Department of Psychology.

“As a prior Eisenhower fellowship recipient myself, I personally know how important this honor is for propelling one’s career,” Stavrinos said. “The program provided rich networking opportunities, and I met people who are my mentors and collaborators today.”

The fellowship is awarded to graduate or doctoral students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines. The program works to advance the transportation workforce by encouraging future transportation professionals to seek advanced degrees and help retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry.