UAB’s Koopman, Kimberly receive high honors from Rheumatology group

william_j_koopman_1William Koopman, M.D., distinguished professor and chairman emeritus of the Department of Medicine, has received the Presidential Gold Medal from the American College of Rheumatology, the highest award that organization bestows. The award is in recognition of outstanding achievements in rheumatology over an entire career. Candidates will have made important contributions in multiple areas such as clinical medicine, research, education or administration.

Koopman demonstrated excellence in clinical medicine, biomedical research, medical and science education and administration. “Although he retired from UAB almost four years ago, his reputation and ability to effect collaboration, teamwork and shared accountability are still the gold standard against which UAB leaders are judged,” said Anupam Agarwal, M.D., interim chairman of the Department of Medicine.

robert_kimberly_2010_1Robert Kimberly, M.D., professor in the Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology in the Department of Medicine, has been selected a master of the ACR, the fourth consecutive year a UAB faculty member has been selected for this honor. Kimberly joins Chela Alarcón, M.D., Gene Ball, M.D., Claude Bennett, M.D., Lou Heck, M.D. and Bill Koopman, M.D.; and former fellows Chris Alexander, M.D. and Ken Sack, M.D., as masters of the ACR associated with UAB.

Recognition as a master of the ACR is one of the highest honors the College bestows. The designation of master is conferred on ACR members, age 65 or older, who have made outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology through scholarly achievement and/or service to their patients, students and profession. This honor is usually bestowed upon no more than 15 members per year.