Shaw receives highest honor from state PT group

The chair of the UAB Department of Physical Therapy received a professionalism award.

sharon_shaw_awardUAB Department of Physical Therapy Chair Sharon Shaw, P.T., Dr.P.H., received the Marilyn Gossman Professionalism in Physical Therapy Award from the Alabama Chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association. The award recognizes outstanding professionalism in physical therapy service, practice, education and/or research.

Shaw was recognized for her longtime service to Alabama as a clinician, an educator and for her service. She is a former director of UAB Hospital’s Physical Therapy Department and helped develop its nationally recognized burn-treatment team, and she previously directed UAB’s physical therapist assistant program. She was one of the founders of AIDS Alabama and has served in many leadership positions for the organization.