Richter named president-elect of SGS

UAB professor will lead the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons.

UAB’s Holly Richter, M.D., Ph.D., has been named president-elect of the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons for 2012-2013. Richter, a professor of obstetrics and gynecology, holds the J. Marion Sims Endowed Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology and directs the UAB Division of Women’s Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery.

holly_richter_webWith Richter as principal investigator, UAB was one of only three sites funded by the National Institutes of Health to participate in both the NIDDK Urinary Incontinence Treatment Network and the NICHD Pelvic Floor Disorders Network. In 2011, the National Association for Continence named UAB’s Continence and Urogynecology Care Clinics its first Center of Excellence: Continence Care, and Richter is one of the health-care providers for the designation.

Richter has had more than 200 publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals and has been an ad hoc reviewer for a number of publications, including New England Journal of Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology and International Urogynecology Journal. The Society of Gynecologic Surgeons is recognized as a select member group of more than 250 physicians representing both private practice and academic faculty — all involved in teaching and the practice of advanced gynecologic surgery.