National Alumni Society honors five at Leadership Awards

Anupam Agarwal, M.D., Donny Burke, Ph.D., Maj. Gen. Lee Price (retired), Doug Rigney, Ph.D., and Jerry Stephens, Ph.D., were honored by the NAS.

nas awards 2014From left: Trey Cummings, Maj. Gen. Lee Price, Renita Rigney, Donny Burke, Jerry Stephens, Anupam Agarwal, and President Ray WattsThe University of Alabama at BirminghamNational Alumni Society recognized five people with honors at the group’s 14th annual Alumni Leadership Recognition Awards Luncheon on Friday, Sept. 26.

Anupam Agarwal, M.D., Donny Burke, Ph.D., Maj. Gen. Lee Price (retired), Doug Rigney, Ph.D., and Jerry Stephens, Ph.D., were honored by the NAS for their personal, academic and professional achievements, service to the community, and philanthropy.

Rigney and Stephens were awarded the Honorary Life Membership Award, which is the highest award bestowed on an individual whose contributions to UAB benefit the entire university community.

Rigney received his Bachelor of Science degree in general engineering from the UAB School of Engineering in 1980 and a bachelor’s degree in materials engineering in 1985 from UAB. He also received a master’s degree in 1985 and a doctorate in 1989 in biomedical engineering. He joined the UAB faculty in 1989 and retired in 2014 as the interim vice president for Information Technology.

Stephens earned his bachelor’s degree in accounting in 1974 and his Master of Business Administration degree in 1976 from UAB. He joined the Mervyn Sterne Library staff in 1974. In 1985, he was named director of the Mervyn Sterne Library and served in that position until his retirement in 2014.

Price was honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award, which is presented to a UAB graduate whose professional and community accomplishments are outstanding, who is an individual distinguished in his or her profession, who has demonstrated a continual interest in UAB, and who is a member of the NAS. Price received her Bachelor of Science degree in criminal justice in 1975. She retired from the Army in 2013 with more than 38 years of service.

Agarwal was presented with the Honorary Alumni Award, which traditionally is awarded to a member of the UAB family who has made exceptional contributions to UAB and its programs. Agarwal is a 1985 graduate of the Kasturba Medical College in India. He is the director of the Division of Nephrology at UAB and professor of medicine and associate director of research for the division.

Burke was awarded the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award, which is presented to a UAB alumnus who graduated within the last 10 years. Burke graduated with a biology degree in 2001 and a biomedical engineering degree in 2005. He earned his Ph.D. in interdisciplinary engineering. He is currently an assistant professor and associate director in UAB’s Department of Mechanical Engineering and master of engineering in Advanced Safety Engineering and Management.