Psychology student joins list of past UAB winners of prestigious research award

Haley Johnson singled out for youth injury research award.
Written by: Katherine Shonesy
Need more information? Contact us

haley johnsonHaley Johnson, a psychology doctoral student at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, was selected as this year’s sole recipient of the Lizette Peterson-Homer Memorial Injury Research Grant. Johnson was chosen from a pool of 19 elite applicants, and she joins her mentor, Assistant Professor Despina Stavrinos, Ph.D., and Professor David Schwebel, Ph.D., as a winner of this award.

Two additional UAB researchers, Jiabin Shen and Ben Barton, Ph.D., also have been recipients of this grant.

The award, which is sponsored by the American Psychological Foundation and the Society of Pediatric Psychology, supports research into psychological and behavioral aspects of the prevention of injuries in children and adolescents. The grant provides up to $5,000 in funding to the recipient to pursue his or her research.

The award program is the namesake of the late Lizette Peterson-Homer, and honors her commitment to improving the status of children in the face of the most significant threats to their health and development.