Yester honored with Edith H. Quimby Award in Washington, D.C.

The Quimby Award honors American Association of Physicists in Medicine members with notable careers and outstanding achievements in medical physics.   

Michael Yester, Ph.D., director of the Division of Physics and Engineering in the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s Department of Radiology and professor of nuclear medicine, has been awarded the 2016 Edith H. Quimby Award by the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, which honors AAPM members with notable careers and outstanding achievements in medical physics.

Yester was given the award at the 58th Annual Meeting and Scientific Assembly of the AAPM in Washington, D.C. on Aug. 8th.

Yester has been the director of the physics and engineering — housed in UAB’s School Medicine — since 2002. He is active in the AAPM and has served on the American College of Radiology Mammography Accreditation Physics Subcommittee. He also is a member of the Nuclear Medicine Accreditation Physics Subcommittee. Additionally, he is also active on the American Board of Radiology Nuclear Medicine Physics Exam Committee. Yester’s current interests include dual energy CT, PET, dual energy mammography and bone densitometry.

Yester earned his bachelor of science in physics from Christian Brothers College in 1966 and earned his doctorate in physics from Iowa State University in 1972. He joined UAB in 1976.

Edith H. Quimby was one of the earliest researchers of x-rays and radium. She was the first woman to receive the Janeway Medal of the American Radium Society in recognition of her achievements in the field.