People of UAB
Six UAB women are honored as the Outstanding Women for 2019 by the Commission on the Status of Women in celebration of Women’s History Month.
A UAB School of Dentistry student will help lead the national, student-run professional organization. 
A UAB optometrist has been recognized by the Scleral Lens Education Society.
Miller replaces interim division director Vishnu Reddy, M.D., professor in the Division of Laboratory Medicine.
Andrew J. Butler, professor of physical therapy and associate dean for research at Georgia State University’s College of Nursing and Health Professions, will join UAB this summer.
Eight UAB students have been selected as semifinalists and one awarded for the Fulbright Scholarship Program.
Baskin will become society president in April 2020.
UAB neuroscientist Vladimir Parpura will begin a four-year term as a council member of the International Society for Neurochemistry.
The Nature – Laboratory Investigation paper was published online last year.
Walker, who is originating the role of Ota Benga in the play, will graduate with a degree in musical theater April 27.
A UAB School of Medicine professor has been appointed to a national committee that advises the White House on HIV/AIDS interventions and strategies.
School of Engineering student Ryan Williams recognized as Undergraduate Student of the Year, continuing three-year winning streak with his high school alma mater.
The team competed against 35 other teams at the 23rd National Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl.
UAB English instructor Jessica Smith wrote the poetry collection as she was leaving a job, helping a student learn to trust again and discovering a new skill.
Ernestine’s Milky Way tells the story of a determined 5-year-old girl in the early 1940s who sets off on a journey to deliver two Mason jars of milk to her neighbors in the holler.
A UAB optometrist has received an appointment to jointly chair an international collaborative network.
Combining these two important arts assets reflects UAB’s commitment to interdisciplinary collaboration in the visual and performing arts.
The fledgling company has lab space at Innovation Depot and sponsors contract research at UAB.
UAB’s School of Engineering wins multiple awards at the Engineering Council of Birmingham’s awards banquet.
The award recognizes an individual for his or her role in furthering low-vision research and rehabilitation.
High school senior shares her prosthetic foot design for Marine Corps veteran amputee alongside him — and announces her college choice — on “TODAY” show.
UAB Honors College student will interview in early March for the prestigious Truman Scholarship.
A psychology professor is recognized for contributions to the fields of psychophysiology and biofeedback.
Freshman Dina Kasman of Vestavia, Alabama, and junior Mira Walker of Birmingham were the winners, and junior Jacob Skiles won honorable mention.
SHAPE America has acknowledged associate professor of education with an award for the Southern district college/university physical educator of the year.
A UAB biostatistics professor is the newly appointed director of Lister Hill Center.
Robert Blanton, Ph.D., who joined the UAB faculty in 2014, will begin his new role Aug. 1.
A UAB researcher has been recognized for her interventional research and work with school-age children who have emotional and behavioral disorders.
Sandra Cutts begins a one-year fellowship this month in U.S. Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith’s office.
Steven Theiss is named the first chair of the newly established Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at UAB.
Page 5 of 42