UAB School of Engineering announces Egg Drop Competition winners

Local schools participated in 25th annual Egg Drop, held atop Vulcan for the first time.
Written by: Katherine Shonesy
Need more information? Contact us

Hundreds of central Alabama students watched their eggs drop from the top of Vulcan on Red Mountain on April 11 while participating in the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s 25th Annual Brent Newman Egg Drop Competition.

Nearly 600 students from local elementary, middle and high schools designed contraptions to protect eggs as they dropped from Vulcan. The goal was for a participant’s contraption to prevent the egg from breaking after the approximately 100-foot drop.

The event, which was sponsored and managed by the UAB School of Engineering chapter of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, began in 1989 to promote engineering education and inspire the next generation of Alabama engineers.

Students used approved materials to design their contraptions, which were required to fit in a container no larger than 2 feet on a side. There were no design restrictions. Students were judged on the design of their contraptions, including their weight, ease of use and creativity. First- through third-place winners and a most creative winner were named in elementary, middle and high school categories. An overall winner was also named.

High School Division: (Ninth-12th)
First – Mara Aguilera, Aleah Kiefer and Emily Mullins, Isabella School
Second – Lance Brown and Cameron Talley, Isabella School
Third – Miguel Bolanos, Jacob Teeter and Charles Vizzina, Oak Mountain High School
Most Creative – Nikki Hester and Alex Epperson, Isabella School

Middle School Division: (Sixth-Eighth)
First – Bayleigh Smith, Gadsden Middle School
Second – Mary Clare Bone and Lindsey Cotton, Gadsden Middle School
Third – Alex Terry, Isabella School
Most Creative – Tyler Matlock, Gadsden Middle School High School

Elementary School Division: (First-Fifth)
First – Jonah Martin, Creek View Elementary School
Second – Jonah Abercrombie, Creek View Elementary School
Third – Jacob Johnson and Seth Wendell, Isabella School
Most Creative – Connor Dunn, Creek View Elementary School

Overall Best Contraption:
Bayleigh Smith, Gadsden Middle School