UAB Cancer Center honors researchers during annual retreat

Written by 

ccancercenter sizedSixteen UAB physicians and researchers were selected for awards during the recent UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center annual research retreat and competition.

The research competition enables junior faculty, postdoctoral fellows and graduate students to showcase their research in cancer prevention and control and biostatistics and bioinformatics. The 2013 competition included 106 presentations and awards were given in eight categories.

Francisco Robert, M.D., professor of Medicine and senior scientist for the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center Experimental Therapeutics Program, received the Albert F. LoBuglio Distinguished Faculty Award, presented annually to a Cancer Center investigator who has made outstanding research contributions. 

The John R. Durant Award for Excellence in Cancer Research was presented in three categories. Winners were Susan Nozell, Ph.D.; Nicole Riddle, Ph.D.; and Aimee Lander, Ph.D., junior faculty; Joshua Canzoneri, Ph.D.; Jatinder Goyal, M.D.; and Anna Arthur, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow; plus graduate students Stephanie Robert, Jerome Higgs and Matthew Schultz.

Suguna Badiga, Ph.D., received the William C. Bailey Award for Excellence in Cancer Prevention and Control Research, with honorable mentions for Changzhao Li, Ph.D., and Tahseen Nasti.

Xiaoyan Cui, M.D., Ph.D., received the Tandra Chaudhuri Award for Excellence in Cancer Research. The Seng-jaw Soong Award for Excellence in Biostatistics and Bioinformatics Research was presented to David Robbins and Nathaniel Reeve received the Cancer Research Experiences for Students Award.