5 faculty elevated to Distinguished Professor

Written by 

The University of Alabama System Board of Trustees awarded the rank of Distinguished Professor to five faculty during its meeting June 8.

Stephen Barnes   Widget
Stephen Barnes, Ph.D., was named Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology in the School of Medicine. Barnes came to UAB in 1977 as a mathematical gastroenterology fellow through the National Library of Medicine and joined the faculty in 1979 as an assistant professor. Now, in addition to his position in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Barnes is a senior scientist at UAB’s Center for Free Radical Biology, Nutrition Obesity Research Center, Center for Bone and Joint Disease and Nephrology Research and Training Center and he has dual appointments in the departments of Environmental Health Sciences, Genetics and Vision Sciences.

Barnes has published more than 300 peer-reviewed journal articles, reviews and book chapters and has delivered lectures at institutions such as Vanderbilt University, Johns Hopkins University and the University of Durham in in Durham, England. In 2012, Barnes was named UAB’s Distinguished Faculty Lecturer. He also is a member of the International Science Advisory Panel at Imperial College London’s National Phenome Center.
Edwin Blalock   Widget
Edwin Blalock, Ph.D., was named Distinguished Professor of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care in the School of Medicine. Blalock joined UAB in 1986 as a professor in the Department of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology, then known as the Department of Physiology and Biophysics. Now, Blalock is the Nancy E. Dunlap Endowed Chair in Pulmonary Diseases and a senior scientist at UAB’s Center for AIDS Research, Comprehensive Arthritis, Musculoskeletal, Bone and Autoimmunity Center and Civitan International Research Center.

Blalock has published more than 330 peer-reviewed journal articles, reviews and book chapters, and he was the editor of multiple editions of the book “Neuroimmunoendocrinology” from Karger Publishers. He has received the Dean’s Excellence Award in Research from the School of Medicine, the Department of Medicine’s Notable Mentor Award and the George D. Oetting Excellence in Teaching Award from the Medical Association of the State of Alabama.
William Britt   Widget
William Britt, M.D., was named Distinguished Professor of Pediatric Infectious Diseases in the Department of Pediatrics. Britt came to UAB in 1984 as a clinical associate physician and an assistant professor in the department. He became a professor of pediatrics in 1992 and a scientist in UAB’s Comprehensive Cancer Center and Center for AIDS Research. He later became a Sparkman Center for Global Health scholar. In addition Britt now is the Charles A. Alford Professor of Pediatrics and holds appointments in the departments of Microbiology and Neurobiology.

Britt has published more than 230 articles in peer-reviewed journals, 50-plus books and book chapters, including one in the upcoming ninth edition of “Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases.” Britt also was named a Centennial Scholar by Children’s of Alabama and is the recipient of the Dean’s Excellence in Mentorship Award from the UAB Graduate School.
Wally Carlo   Widget
Waldemar Carlo, M.D., was named Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics. Carlo joined UAB in 1991 as professor of pediatrics and director of the department’s Division of Neonatology. In 2000, he was appointed the Edwin M. Dixon Professor of Pediatrics. In addition to directing the neonatology division, Carlo also is director of newborn nurseries at UAB and Children’s of Alabama.

Carlo has published hundreds of peer-reviewed research papers in industry journals and authored or edited several books, including the fourth edition of “Textbook in Neonatal Resuscitation” from the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Heart Association. He has been named one of the Best Doctors in America and is the recipient of the Founder’s Award from the Southern Society of Pediatric Research for significant contributions to children’s health care and the society itself.
Gregg Gilbert   Widget
Gregg Gilbert, DDS, was named Distinguished Professor in Dentistry in the School of Dentistry. Gilbert joined UAB in 2000 as a professor and chair in the Department of Diagnostic Sciences, later reorganized into the Department of Clinical and Community Sciences. He also is a senior scientist in UAB’s Center for Outcomes and Effectiveness Research and Education, Center for Diabetes Research, Lister Hill Center for Health Policy, Center for Aging and Center for the Study of Community Health.

Gilbert has published more than 200 peer-reviewed research papers in journals and is the recipient of many awards, including the William J. Gies Award for outstanding vision in dental education and his efforts to bridge research, education and practice and the Giddon Award for Distinguished Research in the Behavioral Sciences from the International Association for Dental Research.