Trustees name emeriti faculty

Written by 

The University of Alabama System Board of Trustees appointed several faculty to emeriti positions during its Feb 3 meeting. Christie Brouillette, Ph.D., research professor emerita, chemistry; Lindy Harrell, M.D., Ph.D., professor emerita, neurology; Raymond Ideker, M.D., Ph.D., professor emeritus,  cardiovascular disease; Donald Twieg, Ph.D., professor emeritus, biomedical engineering, Steven Haeberle, Ph.D., associate professor emeritus in government, and Ollie Powers, associate professor emeritus of business.

Brouillette began her academic career at UAB 32 years ago and since 1996 had been associate director of molecular physics in the Center for Biophysical Sciences and Engineering and director of the Biomolecular Analysis Laboratory.

Harrell has served UAB for 28 years and was founding director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Center and the National Institute on Aging. The Department of Neurology established an annual lecture in her honor in 2007.

Twieg joined the UAB faculty in 1990 and developed algorithms that improved the accuracy of magnetic resonance imaging.

Haeberle retired in 2009 after a 25-year career at UAB. He received the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching for the in 2004.

Powers retired in December 2011 after a 35-year career at UAB. He was awarded the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1991.