Explore UAB

  • Chapleau becomes first person from the SHP to win the UAB Outstanding Advisor Award for an Advising Administrator

    Kristin Chapleau, MaE, director of the Office of Student Services and Advising has been selected as the UAB CAA Outstanding Advisor Award – Advising Administrator recipient. She becomes the first person from the School of Health Professions to win this award.

  • Heersink family gifts $1M to UAB School of Health Professions

    Marnix E. Heersink, M.D., and Mary Heersink walking outside hand-in-hand.

    Marnix E. Heersink, M.D., and Mary Heersink, longtime supporters of UAB, have made a gift of $1,040,000 gift to the UAB School of Health Professions. The donation, which established the Heersink Family Foundation Endowed Scholarship in Health Professions, is the largest single scholarship gift in school history.

  • Krystle Glasgow: Advocating for Nuclear Medicine

    Krystle W. Glasgow, MIS, CNMT, NMTCB(CT), NMAA, FSNMMI-TS, clinical coordinator in our M.S. in Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Sciences program, is being recognized for continuing to excel in a growing and evolving profession while standing and fighting for all things nuclear medicine. Much of her motivation comes from a drive to help her students succeed.

  • Dickson-Clayton and Gilford each receive an AAFA First Award

    Jewell J. Dickson-Clayton, OTD, MPH, OTR/L, ATP, FAOTA, and M. Tosi Gilford, MD, PA-C, each received a First Award from the UAB African American Faculty Association (AAFA) at an event on February 22, 2024.

  • BMD Student Wins 2023 SAHPD Student Leadership in Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Award

    Salma Santiago, a senior in the UAB B.S. in Biomedical Sciences program was selected as the winner of the 2023 SAHPD Student Leadership in Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Award from the Southern Association of Health Professions Deans at Academic Health Centers.

  • UAB alumni 2 of 15 nominated for national Heart of Genetic Counseling Award

    UAB Genetic Counseling Program alumni, Brighton Goodhue, MS, LCGC, and Dana (Hollenbeck) Goodloe, MPH, MS, LCGC, were two of only 15 genetic counselors in the U.S. to be nominated for the Heart of Genetic Counseling Award this year. The award is sponsored by Invitae and honorees are selected from nominees submitted by patients and families that have received genetic counseling services.

  • 2023 Blazer Forever Scholarship Recipients

    Five students have been awarded a UAB School of Health Professions Blazer Forever Scholarship. The award is given to SHP students during Homecoming Week based on an essay answer. This year, we asked students to talk about the ways classroom collaborations and/or team-based learning has made them stronger teammates.

  • MLS summer program a mixture of science, service, and social responsibility

    Dozens of students from across the U.S. attended the second UAB Medical Laboratory Science Summer Service program. Jenny Gao, PhD, MLS (ASCP)CM, assistant professor, and Floyd Josephat, EdD, MLS(ASCP), professor, Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences, developed and implemented the curriculum specifically for high school students with a keen interest in science.

  • UAB Genetic Counseling online case series delivers depth, details seldom seen in shadowing

    The UAB M.S. in Genetic Counseling faculty – with more than 50 years’ combined experience in genetic counseling and higher education – recently decided it was time to modernize the shadowing/observing process in their industry. They combined their vast knowledge with multimedia technology to create the UAB Genetic Counseling Simulation Case Series.

  • New Genetics and Genomics Certificate Evolves with Industry

    UAB has developed a Graduate Certificate in Industry Genetics and Genomics to provide industry and genetics professionals with opportunities to learn more about genetics technological advancements to stay ahead of the curve in variant interpretation; providing these learners with the chance to perform at the top of their field.

  • Governor Ivey signs bill to impact care in rural and underserved counties

    Governor Kay Ivey, during a bill signing ceremony on Thursday, signed into law the Preceptor Tax Incentive Program to provide income tax credit incentives for certain health professions students who train in rural and underserved counties across Alabama.

  • George Fritsma receives ASCLS Lifetime Achievement Award

    George A. Fritsma, MS, MLS, former faculty member of the M.S. in Medical Laboratory Sciences program, was presented with the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS) Lifetime Achievement Award.

  • USNWR Rankings: MSHA remains #1, PA leaps to #8, HQS debuts at #11

    The UAB School of Health Professions has three programs ranked in the Top 11 in the nation according the latest U.S. News & World Report rankings.

  • SHP Students Receive Gilman International Scholarship

    Nicollette Houston-Turner and Yesi Villanueva, two students from the UAB School of Health Professions, were among the largest group of students selected for the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship. The Gilman scholarship strives to widen the range of students eligible to experience studying abroad. The program is intent on encouraging students to study and learn in an array of countries and world regions.

  • Ana Oliveira honored with Provost’s Awards for Faculty Excellence

    Ana Oliveira with award

    Ana Oliveira, DrPH, assistant professor in the Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences, has been honored with the Provost's Award for Faculty Excellence.

  • Genetic Counseling student earns ASAHP Scholarship of Excellence

    Yael Bar-Peled, a second-year student in the UAB M.S. in Genetic Counseling program is one of only 12 in the U.S. to receive the Association for Schools of Allied Health Professions (ASAHP) Scholarship of Excellence. The annual scholarship recognizes students in health professions who are achieving excellence in their academic programs and have significant potential to assume future leadership roles in healthcare.

  • Nugent honored as one of 2022’s “Top Birmingham Women”

    Kathy Nugent

    Kathy Nugent, Ph.D., chair of our Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences, was announced as one of the Top Birmingham Women of 2022 by the Birmingham Business Journal.

  • Josephat selected for ASCLS Honorary Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity

    Floyd Josephat, EdD., MLS (ASCP), director of the UAB M.S. in Clinical Laboratory Sciences program, has been selected for membership in the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science Honorary Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity. Established in 1948, the AMTF inducts medical laboratory scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the field and have earned national recognition.

  • From bench to business: Online master's in biotechnology provides students with real-world experience

    In just 365 days, the UAB Master of Science in Biotechnology trains students to see the solution and be the solution. 

  • Art imitating life: How a BMD student uses embroidery to learn in her own way

    Introductory Biology II covers a wide range of topics: Students learn about plant parts, cells and life cycles, the animal kingdom, how the heart works, and how the digestive system operates. Laura Calvert, a senior majoring in biomedical sciences, was not having much luck with the often-recommended method of learning — repeatedly sketching the processes and diagrams on paper — and said the idea of traditional study methods “fills me with dread, so any time I can find a way to make the process more interesting, I jump on it.”

Page 1 of 4