Don Lein 2014 ALAPTA Gossman Award winnerDonald Lein, PT, PhD
2014 ALAPTA Gossman Award winner
Donald Lein, PT, Ph.D., assistant professor at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, earned the Alabama Chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association's Marilyn Gossman Professionalism in Physical Therapy Award for 2014. The award is considered the ALAPTA's most prestigious honor and was given to Lein at the ALAPTA annual conference on Saturday, August 23, 2014.

Lein, academic coordinator of clinical education in the UAB Department of Physical Therapy, is also an alumnus earning his Ph.D. in Health Behavior and Master of Science in Physical Therapy at UAB.

Lein is the 10th PT with UAB connections to win the honor. That list includes Beth Whitehead, PT; Cara Adams, PT; Donald Hiltz, PT; Janet Nesin, PT; Patty Perez, PT; Patrice Murphy, PT; Sharon Shaw, PT, DrPH; David Morris PT, PhD; and Barbara Bradford, PT, MPH.

The award is given to those demonstrating outstanding professionalism in any of the areas of physical therapy service, practice, education and/or research. It is named after Marilyn R. Gossman, PT, Ph.D., FAPTA, who is known as "the mother" of the UAB PT program.

UAB alumna Cindy LaPorte also took home honors from the conference. The UAB Master of Science in Physical Therapy graduate earned the 2014 ALAPTA Leadership Award.