Brooke Miller, a first-year student in the  UAB School of Health Professions’ Master of Science in Nutrition Sciences – Clinical Track – Dietetic Internship program, received the Emerging Leader in Health and Wellness Student Award from UAB Employee Wellness.

Five members of the UAB School of Health Professions faculty earned certificates for completing the National Inclusive Excellence Leadership Academy (NIXLA). Members of the Class of 2019 are Dina Avery, DHSc, Brenda Bertrand, Ph.D., April Rollins-Kyle, MAEd, Sarah Tucker, Ph.D., and Neena Xavier, M.D.

Floyd Josephat, EdD, MT(ASCP), program director, UAB School of Health ProfessionsM.S. in Clinical Laboratory Sciences (MSCLS) program, conducted a workshop on Real Life Case Study at the Caribbean Association of Medical Technologists National Symposium in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Real Life Case Study is a unique teaching strategy and empirical inquiry that allows students to investigate diseases within its real-life context. It provides students the opportunity to work on these cases simultaneously as physicians and other members of the healthcare team are working on the same cases.

In his presentation, Josephat stressed the benefit of integrating this technique into the classroom and explained how he implemented it into the UAB MSCLS program. He says teaching this technique accomplishes three specific things:

  1. Requires students think critically about the situation.
  2. Prepares students to apply decision-making to real-life situations.
  3. Develops students’ research skills.

Josephat, who presented to an international group of Clinical Laboratory Scientists, Medical Technologists, Cytotechnologists and Physicians, also pointed out that the program better prepares students to solve or address disease processes by making sense of information using creative, intuitive, logical and analytical mental processes.

Matthew Ithurburn, PT, DPT, PhD, assistant professor in the UAB School of Health Professions’ Department of Physical Therapy, has been selected by the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) Section on Research as a 2019 recipient of the Emerging Leader Award. Ithurburn, who is also treasurer of the Biomechanics Special Interests Group (2018-2020), was nominated by the Section’s leadership to recognize his accomplishments and contributions to the PT profession and the APTA, early in his career.