Samantha Martin, Ph.D., postdoctoral student in the UAB School of Health Professions' Department of Nutrition Sciences, has been selected to receive an Outstanding Postdoctoral Award for her exceptional accomplishments. Martin received the Dr. Congeniality Award for being the postdoc who has a disposition so kind and pleasant, their presence brightens the atmosphere of the work environment.

UAB School of Health Professions Assistant Professor Michelle Brown, PhD, is co-investigator on a grant to bring potentially life-saving skills to Birmingham City and Jefferson County schools, she says, "The first few minutes of an incident are so critical, and this training can make a difference when waiting on emergency services to arrive.”

International Education at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, in conjunction with the School of Health Professions and INTO UAB hosted 21 medical students from China for a four-week immersion program into U.S. Culture and Medical Education. These students from the Wenzhou Medical University (Zhejiang province, China) graduated from the summer program on Friday, August 10, 2018.

Alex Cody, a third-year student in the School of Health ProfessionsPhysician Assistant Studies program, is the only representative from Alabama and one of only eight in the U.S. selected to the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) Judicial Affairs Commission (JAC).