A language conversation table offers the opportunity to practice the language you are studying with other speakers of the language. Students, staff, faculty, and community members come together to learn in a fun and casual environment.

  • Fridays 12:30 - 1:30 pm
  • Sep. 7 - Nov. 30 (except holidays)
  • Humanities Building 424, map
  • (Special events: Sep.28, Oct. 26, Nov. 30 Lunch at Commons on the Green)
  • Email coltyma@uab.edu for more information.
  • The Chinese Language Table is a relaxed, pleasant place for students who want to practice oral Chinese. Learners of all levels are welcome to join, since we have topics suitable for each level. At the Chinese Table, you can make friends with Chinese students and exchange opinions on cultural issues. You will surely learn something new every time you come!
  • Mondays, 4-5 pm
  • Starbucks at Sterne Library, map
  • All levels welcome
  • Contact mbond@uab.edu for more info.
  • Starts September 10
  • Ends December 3

Mondays we will meet from 1:30 pm to 2:30 pm.
Tuesdays we will meet from 1:00 pm to 1:45 pm.

  • September
    Monday, September 10 and 24
    Tuesday, September 18
  • October
    Monday, October 8 and 22
    Tuesday, October 2, 16, and 30
  • November
    Monday, November 5
    Tuesday, November 13 and 27
  • December
    Monday, December 3
  • Location: Humanities Building 424, map
  • All are welcome, but the conversations will focus on topics from the introductory and intermediate German courses.
  • Email ehrinker@uab.edu for more information.

Location: HB 424 Conference Room, map

  • 09.11.2018 Tuesday 2:00 - 3:00
  • 09.28.2018 Friday 11:15 - 12:15
  • 10.09.2018 Tuesday 2:00 - 3:00
  • 10.26.2018 Friday 11:15 - 12:15
  • 11.06.2018 Tuesday 2:00 - 3:00
  • 11.30.2018 Friday 11:15 - 12:15
 
  • Day: Mondays
  • Time: 2:30 pm
  • Location: Starbucks at Sterne Library, map
  • Email centeno@uab.edu for more information.
 
La Cena de la Tertulia
  • Dates: October 12, November 9
  • Time: 6:00 pm
  • Location: Mi pueblo restaurant/supermarket, map

All Levels Welcome  •  La Tertulia Facebook Page

Stammtisch, German Conversation Table

  • Day: Every Thursday (except on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year when they fall on or within a day or two of Thursday)
  • Time: 7:30 - 9:30 pm
  • Location: Giuseppes Café, map
  • For anyone who speaks German. The conversational level is intermediate to advanced. New participants are always welcome.
  • Contact Dr. David Agresti for additional information.