Three Department of Pathology teaching faculty were selected as teaching award recipients among the faculty honored by students from the UAB School of Medicine with 2015 Argus Awards.

The Argus Awards, created in 1996 to recognize faculty members, give medical students the chance to honor their mentors, professors, courses and course directors for outstanding service to medical education. Faculty are nominated by course evaluations and students vote to select award winners in each category. Pathology teaching faculty who were winners and nominees for the 2015 Argus Awards include:

For the fifth year in a row Ken Waites, M.D. was selected as the Best Educator in the Fundamentals 2 module. The Cardiovascular Module directed by Silvio Litovsky, M.D. received the award for Best MS1 Organ System Module. And Jennifer Gordetsky, M.D. was lauded as the Best Educator in the Reproductive Module.

Additional pathology faculty and their courses nominated by the students for award consideration included: nominee for the Best Introductory Module was Fundamentals 2 directed by Peter Anderson, D.V.M, Ph.D. and Ken Waites, M.D. Nominees for the award of Best Organ Module included the Pulmonary Module directed by C. Bruce Alexander, M.D., the Hematology-Oncology Module directed by Vishnu Reddy, M.D., and the Reproduction Module directed by Jennifer Gordetsky, M.D.

Kudos to all pathology teaching faculty who help to make the pathology undergraduate teaching program a rousing success.