Explore UAB

Announcements Patrick Johnson April 14, 2022

Dean Kecia M. Thomas with Kim Hazelwood at the UAB Service Awards reception.Twenty-seven College of Arts and Sciences employees who have worked at UAB for 20 years or more were recognized at the UAB Service Awards reception on April 11, 2022. These dedicated colleagues were honored for their number of years of employment at UAB as of December 31, 2021.


The UAB Service Awards are given to active employees beginning at five years of employment and at each five-year milestone. Employees who reach 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, and 45 years of service are invited to a reception on behalf of UAB President Ray L. Watts and presented with a service award pin, certificate, and a gift of gratitude.


This year, Dr. Vithal K. Ghanta, professor in the Department of Biology and co-director of the Undergraduate Immunology Program, was honored for 50 years of service to UAB. Dr. Gregory Pence, professor in the Department of Philosophy and director of the Early Medical School Acceptance Program, was honored for 45 years of service. Congratulations to all our colleagues for their dedication and commitment to the University’s mission and vision.

Dr. Vithal K. Ghanta50-Year Recipient: Dr. Vithal K. Ghanta, professor in the Department of Biology

20-Year Recipients

  • Kimberly H. Hazelwood, College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Office
  • Erin Wright, Art and Art History
  • Tanja Matthews, Chemistry
  • Dr. Jacqueline Nikles, Chemistry
  • Daniel L. Butcher, English
  • Dr. Gale M. Temple, English
  • Dr. Lourdes M. Sanchez-Lopez, Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Dr. Stephen J. Miller, History
  • Dr. John Heith Copes, Criminal Justice
  • Dr. Reinhard E. Fambrough, Music
  • Dr. Gitendra Uswatte, Psychology
gregory pence45-Year Recipient: Dr. Gregory E. Pence, professor in the Department of Philosophy

25-Year Recipients

  • James R. Grimes, Advising
  • Margaret Amsler, Biology
  • Leslie C. Hendon, Biology
  • Adriana S. Addison, Psychology
  • Dr. Karlene K. Ball, Psychology
  • Wanda R. Fisher, Psychology
  • Pamela Y. Robinson, Psychology

30-Year Recipients

  • Dr. Tracy P. Hamilton, Chemistry
  • Dr. Kathryn D. Morgan, Criminal Justice and African American Studies
  • Kimberly A. Schnormeier, Theatre

35-Year Recipients

  • Dr. Edwin W. Cook III, Psychology
  • Dr. Edward Taub, Psychology

40-Year Recipients

  • Dr. Howard L. Irving, Music
  • Dr. Franklin R. Amthor, Psychology

45-Year Recipient

  • Dr. Gregory E. Pence, Philosophy

50-Year Recipient

  • Dr. Vithal K. Ghanta, Biology

More News

  • Alabama Space Grant Consortium & NASA EPSCoR awards scholarships and fellowships to nine UAB students
  • Pangborn selected as new chair of the Department of English
  • Henrich looking forward to new home for the Department of Psychology

Back to Top