Nearly fifty faculty serve as mentors for the Cancer Prevention and Control Training Program through the Cancer Control and Prevention Science (CCPS) or Cancer Chemoprevention (CC) programs.

 

Primary Mentors:

CC

Mohammed Athar, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Dermatology

Research Interests:
Chemo-prevention of UVB-induced skin cancer

Email:
mathar@uabmc.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Marie Bakitas, DNSc, NP

Primary Mentor

Professor of Nursing

Research Interests:
Palliative care, disparities research, community-based participatory research (CBPR)

Email:
mbakitas@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Monica Baskin, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Preventive Medicine

Research Interests:
Lifestyle interventions in underserved populations

Email:
mbaskin@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Smita Bhatia, MD, MPH

Primary Mentor

Professor of Pediatrics

Research Interests:
Cancer survivorship and late effects

Email:
mbakitas@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Elizabeth Brown, PhD, MPH

Primary Mentor

Professor of Molecular & Cellular Pathology

Research Interests:
Epidemiology of lymphoma and multiple myeloma

Email:
elbrown@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Tiffany Carson, PhD

Primary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine

Research Interests:
Weight control intervention in African Americans

Email:
mistlc@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Karen Cropsey, PhD

Primary Mentor

Associate Professor of Psychology

Research Interests:
Smoking cessation interventions

Email:
kcropsey@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, PhD, RD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Nutrition Sciences

Research Interests:
Dietary interventions in cancer populations

Email:
demark@uab.edu

View Profile

J. Nick Dionne-Odom, PhD, MSN

Primary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Research Interests:
Palliative care research in oncology caregiving

Email:
dionneod@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Gareth Dutton, PhD

Primary Mentor

Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine

Research Interests:
Weight loss interventions in high-risk populations

Email:
gdutton@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Ronit Elk, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Geriatrics, Gerontology & Palliative Care

Research Interests:
Palliative care, disparities research, community-based participatory research (CBPR)

Email:
elkronit@uab.edu

View Profile

CC

Craig Elmets, MD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Dermatology

Research Interests:
Chemoprevention of skin cancers

Email:
celmets@uabmc.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Kevin Fontaine, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Health Behavior

Research Interests:
Lifestyle interventions in high-risk populations

Email:
kfontai1@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Mona Fouad, MD, MPH

Primary Mentor

Professor of Preventive Medicine

Research Interests:
Cancer disparities

Email:
mfouad@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Barbara Gower, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Nutrition Sciences

Research Interests:
Dietary interventions in breast, brain and ovarian CA

Email:
bgower@uab.edu

View Profile

CC

William Grizzle, MD, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Anatomic Pathology

Research Interests:
Biomarkers of cancer risk and progression

Email:
wgrizzle@uab.edu

View Profile

CC

Natalia Kedishvili, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Research Interests:
Retinol/sterol metabolism in chemoprevention

Email:
nkedishvili@uab.edu

View Profile

Mirjam-Colette Kempf, PhD, MPH

Primary Mentor

Professor of Nursing

Research Interests:
Women’s health in HIV disease, psychosocial determinants of infectious disease outcomes

Email:
mkempf@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Wendy Landier, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Anatomic Pathology

Research Interests:
Health disparities in colorectal cancer

Email:
manne@uab.edu

View Profile

CC

Upender Manne, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Anatomic Pathology

Research Interests:
Health disparities in colorectal cancer

Email:
manne@uab.edu

View Profile

Ludwine Messiaen, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Clinical Genetics

Research Interests:
Genotype-phenotype associations in schwannomas

Email:
lmessiaen@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Lyse Norian, PhD

Primary Mentor

Associate Professor of Nutrition Sciences

Research Interests:
Immuno-modulating lifestyle interventions

Email:
lnorian@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Dorothy Pekmezi, PhD

Primary Mentor

Associate Professor of Nutrition Sciences

Research Interests:
Immuno-modulating lifestyle interventions

Email:
lnorian@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Maria Pisu, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Preventive Medicine

Research Interests:
Health economics, financial toxicity in cancer patients

Email:
mpisu@uab.edu

View Profile

CC

Jeevan Prasain, PhD

Primary Mentor

Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology

Research Interests:
Bioactive dietary natural products in the prevention of cancer

Email:
jprasain@uab.edu 

View Profile

CCPS

Laura Rogers, MD, MPH

Primary Mentor

Professor of Nutrition Sciences

Research Interests:
Physical activity interventions in cancer survivors

Email:
rogersl@uab.edu 

View Profile

CCPS

Isabel Scarinci, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Preventive Medicine

Research Interests:
Prevention in high-risk populations and global health

Email:
scarinci@uab.edu

View Profile

James Shikany, DrPH

Primary Mentor

Professor of Preventive Medicine

Research Interests:
Diet, dietary patterns and cancer

Email:
jshikany@dopm.uab.edu

View Profile

CC

Andrzej Slominski, MD, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Dermatology

Research Interests:
Neuroendocrinology of skin cancer

Email:
aslominski@uabmc.edu

View Profile

CC

Trygve Tollefsbol, PhD, DO

Primary Mentor

Professor of Biology

Research Interests:
Epigenetic modulation of cancer risk via botanicals and functional foods

Email:
trygve@uab.edu

View Profile

Ursula Wesselmann, MD, PhD

Primary Mentor

Professor of Anaesthesiology

Research Interests:
Pain in cancer patients and survivors

Email:
ursulawesselmann@uabmc.edu

View Profile

Julie Wolfson, MD

Primary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Hematology & Oncology

Research Interests:
Health services research in childhood cancer survivors

Email:
wolfsonj@uab.edu

View Profile

CC

Nabiha Yusuf, PhD, MPH

Primary Mentor

Associate Professor of Dermatology

Research Interests:
Interferon prevention of photo-carcinogenesis

Email:
nabiha@uab.edu

View Profile

 

Secondary Mentors:

CC

Farrukh Afaq, PhD

Secondary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Dermatology

Research Interests:
Photocarcinogenesis, photoaging and other hyperproliferative and inflammatory skin diseases

Email:
farrukhafaq@uabmc.edu

View Profile

CC

Venkatram Atigadda, PhD

Secondary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Research Interests:
Design and development of novel rexinoids, retinoids and their mechanistic studies

Email:
venkatra@uab.edu

View Profile

CC

Tatjana Coric, PhD

Secondary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology

Research Interests:
Cancer prevention, chemotherapeutics, non-coding RNAs, high-throughput screening

Email:
tcoric@uab.edu 

View Profile

Kelly Kenzik, PhD, MS

Secondary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Hematology & Oncology

Research Interests:
Impact of cancer diagnoses on patient-reported outcomes, morbidity, mortality and health care utilization

Email:
kkenzik@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Akinyemi Ojesina, MD, PhD

Secondary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Epidemiology

Research Interests:
Genomics and infection-related cancers

Email:
ojesina@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Gabrielle Rocque, MD

Secondary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Hematology & Oncology

Research Interests:
Enhancing shared decision making in metastatic breast cancer

Email:
grocque@uab.edu

View Profile

Sadeep Shrestha, PhD

Secondary Mentor

Associate Professor of Public Health

Research Interests:
Cancer control, racial disparities, HPV, head and neck cancers

Email:
sshrestha@uab.edu

View Profile

CCPS

Kristen Triebel, PhD

Secondary Mentor

Associate Professor of Medicine

Research Interests:
Decision making in brain cancer patients

Email:
kgerstenecker@uabmc.edu

View Profile

CCPS

John Waterbor, MD

Secondary Mentor

Associate Professor of Epidemiology

Research Interests:
Cancer epidemiology, cancer clusters

Email:
h2obor@uab.edu

View Profile

Grant Williams, MD

Secondary Mentor

Assistant Professor of Hematology & Oncology

Research Interests:
Sarcopenia and age-related conditions in cancer survivors

Email:
gwillia@uab.edu

View Profile