Explore UAB

CCEE Advisory Board

The Advisory Board supports, on a continuing basis, the development and advancement of the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering. The board serves as a mechanism to inform the public and the practicing profession of the progress of the department, provides a proactive outcome assessment vehicle for the department's academic programs as well as a forum for dialogue related to the department’s development, and assists the department in achieving and maintaining its objectives of providing academic civil engineering programs of genuine excellence. While the board provides a mechanism by which the faculty are able to become aware of the technical and professional trends in industry and within the profession, it also provides a forum through which the department can inform the profession about current activities within academia.

Uday Bhate
Senior Principal/President, Bhate Geosciences Corporation
Jeffrey Brewer
Chief Executive Officer, Goodwyn, Mills and Caywood, Inc.
Lowell Christy
President, Christy/Cobb, Inc.
Randy Cole
Retired County Engineer, Shelby County
Fouad H. Fouad
Former Chair,
CCEE Department, UAB
William Fred Conway
Craig Fleming
President, Dunn Construction Company
Jay Goldman
Distinguished Service Professor & Dean Emeritus, School of Engineering
M. Miller Gorrie
Chairman and CEO, Brasfield and Gorrie L.L.C
Perry A. Hand
President, CEO & Chairman of the Board, Volkert & Associates, Inc.
Paula Marino
Executive Vice President, Eng. & Const., Southern Company
Jody Saiia
CEO & Vice Chairman, Saiia Construction Company, L.L.C.
Robert (Bob) A. Schaffeld
Senior Vice President & Chief Dev. Officer, Projects and Construction, Southern Company
Mitesh Shah
Vice President and General Manager of the Southern and Gulf Coast Division of Vulcan Materials Company
Don Vaughn
Retired Chief Engineer, ALDOT
Spencer Weitman
President, National Cement Company of Alabama, Inc.

Ex Officio Members

Wesley C. Zech
Interim Chair and Professor, CCEE Department, UAB