The Ingalls/Alumni Award is presented annually to a full-time regular UAB faculty member who, throughout his/her career at UAB, has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to teaching. To receive the Ingalls/Alumni Award, the faculty must be a former recipient of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and have served UAB for 20 or more years as a full-time regular faculty member.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

UAB encourages those making awards, and those naming selection committees for awards to keep in mind the diversity, equity, and inclusion values and goals of both the UAB strategic plan Forging the Future and of the Strategic Diversity Plan.  We strive to make sure everybody counts, every day, and that we actively seek varied perspectives in our decision-making, including when recognizing our faculty with awards.


Faculty may be nominated who meet the following criteria:

  1. must be a full-time regular faculty member of UAB who has served UAB for 20 or more years, and
  2. must be a former recipient of the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Please Note: Faculty who are eligible to be nominated for the 2022 Ingalls/UAB Alumni Award will be announced in the summer. Check back for a full list of names and the nomination form.

Submit required documents for nomination in electronic format via email to Samil Baker (Director of Communications - Provost) at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. The deadline for receipt of nominations is August 26, 2022.

For questions related to the Ingalls/UAB Alumni Award, contact Office of the Provost at (205) 934-0622 or by emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Nominee List & Form

Click the green button below to view the list of eligible nominees included on the nomination form.

Past Recipients

2021 - Robin Lester

2020 - Jennifer Kilgo

2019 - Gustavo (Tavo) R. Heudebert

2018 – Michael E. Sloane

2017 – Robert Centor

2016 – Robert Centor

2015 – Joseph G. Van Matre

2014 – Pauline Jolly

2013 – Gregg Janowski

2012 – Alan Eberhardt

2011 – Robin Foley

2010 – Charles Watkins

2009 – Peter Anderson

2008 – Ferris J. Ritchey

2007 – Rosalia N. Scripa

2006 – S. Jean O'Neal