Explore UAB

Nomination deadline for the 2024 Odessa Woolfolk Community Service Award is June 30, 2024.

This award was established by the University of Alabama at Birmingham to recognize one of its faculty who has rendered outstanding service in the Birmingham community in one or more of the following areas:

  • Education
  • Economic development
  • Health care delivery
  • The arts
  • Social services
  • Human rights
  • Urban and public affairs

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

UAB encourages those making awards, and those naming selection committees for awards to keep in mind the diversity, equity, and inclusion values and goals of both the UAB strategic plan Forging the Future and of the Strategic Diversity Plan.  We strive to make sure everybody counts, every day, and that we actively seek varied perspectives in our decision-making, including when recognizing our faculty with awards.


To be eligible, a person must currently hold a full-time regular faculty appointment at UAB, as defined by the UAB Faculty Handbook, and have completed at least one academic year in this position. A person may receive the award only once in any five-year period.

The recipient of the Odessa Woolfolk Community Service Award will be recognized at the annual Faculty Awards Convocation and will receive a $2,500 cash award.

A nomination package should consist of a brief letter of nomination, the faculty member’s curriculum vitae, a one- to two-page description of the community service for which the award is sought, and a maximum of five letters of recommendation. It is requested that nomination packets be in an electronic format and submitted via email to Jessica Eddings (Project Coordinator - Office of the Provost) at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 30, 2024.


For questions related to the Odessa Woolfolk Community Service Award, contact Office of the Provost at extension 934-0622 or by emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Past Recipients

2023 - Shahid Mukhtar
2022 - Carmen Capó-Lugo
2021 - Janene Sims
2020 - Shauntice Allen
2019 - Monica L. Baskin
2018 - Cynthia Selleck
2017 - Michele Kong
2016 - Alison Chapman
2015 - James McClintock
2014 - Cynthia Ryan
2013 - Larry DeLucas
2012 - Stephen Yoder
2011 - Tamilane Blaudeau
2010 - Max Michael
2009 - Brian Geiger
2008 - John Thornton