UAB Designated Holidays


Regular full-time employees in Workgroups A and F (Faculty) receive eight designated holidays and three personal holidays in 2021.

Due to special requirements, the holiday policy for regular full-time employees of UAB Hospital and UAB Police Department (Workgroup C) receive 11 personal holidays, instead of the eight designated and three personal holidays. Part-time employees accrue holidays on a prorated basis. These holidays may be scheduled at any time during the year with the supervisor's approval.

UPDATE FOR 2022: Regular full-time employees in Workgroups A and F (Faculty) will receive nine designated holidays and three personal holidays in 2022. Due to special requirements, the holiday policy for regular full-time employees of UAB Hospital and UAB Police Department (Workgroup C) will receive 12 personal holidays, instead of the nine designated and three personal holidays. As in 2021, part-time employees will accrue holidays on a prorated basis and holidays may be scheduled at any time during the year with the supervisor's approval.

Check your workgroup assignment at uab.edu/knowyourgroup.

2021 Designated Holidays


Friday, January 1, 2021
 
(1) New Year's Day
Monday, January 18, 2021   (1) Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Wednesday, April 14, 2021*   (1) UAB Wellness Day
Monday, May 31, 2021   (1) Memorial Day
Monday, July 5, 2021   (1) Independence Day
Monday, September 6, 2021   (1) Labor Day
Thursday-Friday, November 25-26, 2021   (2) Thanksgiving Holidays
Thursday-Friday, December 23-24, 2021**   (2) Christmas Holidays
Thursday-Friday, December 30-31, 2021**   (2) New Year's Holidays

*With a few exceptions, UAB employees in Workgroups A and F will receive an extra holiday this year on April 14 in recognition of their continued dedication and hard work. See the UAB Reporter for details.

**UAB and UAB Medicine employees will receive extra holidays on December 23 and 30 for the 2021 holiday season. Employees of Callahan Eye Hospital, UAB Hospital, UAB Police and units that receive personal holidays instead of designated ones should check with their supervisors regarding staffing.

2022 Designated Holidays


Friday, December 31, 2021
 
(1) New Year's Day
Monday, January 17, 2022   (1) Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, May 30, 2022   (1) Memorial Day
Monday, June 20, 2022   (1) Juneteenth
Monday, July 4, 2022   (1) Independence Day
Monday, September 5, 2022   (1) Labor Day
Thursday-Friday, November 24-25, 2022   (2) Thanksgiving Holidays
Monday, December 26, 2022   (1) Christmas Holiday
Monday, January 2, 2023   (1) New Year's Holiday