Explore UAB

Connect With Us Subscribe to newsletter
Connect With Us Subscribe to newsletter

The UAB Heersink School of Medicine Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine is privileged to announce the promotion and tenure of three esteemed faculty members, effective Oct. 1, 2023. 

Shama Ahmad sqcrShama Ahmad, Ph.D. - Awarded Tenure 
Dr. Ahmad is an associate professor with research interests in lung injury and repair. Her laboratory focuses on investigating mechanisms of toxic inhaled environmental or industrial chemical-induced pulmonary and/or cardiac toxicity, aiming to establish methods to mitigate these agents' harmful effects.  

Broyles Matt crMatthew Broyles, M.D. - Promotion to Associate Professor 
Dr. Broyles is promoted from assistant professor in the Division of Critical Care Medicine. He has been voted as a top teacher by the residents in four of the last five years and is a residency program director. Additionally, he has been involved in numerous departmental committees and initiatives and serves on the Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists Communications Committee. 

Sherrer MattMatthew Sherrer, M.D., MBA, FASA, FAACD - Promotion to Associate Professor
Promoted from assistant professor, Dr. Sherrer joined our department four years ago. He is now program director for the Perioperative Leadership Fellowship and director of faculty recruitment. Dr. Sherrer also serves as the physician liaison for the UAB Anesthesia Care Team Optimization Committee as well as treasurer and secretary for the Alabama State Society of Anesthesiologists. 

These accolades are significant accomplishments that show commitment to the department and its academic missions and mark a milestone for their academic careers