Dean Assimos, MD

Dean Assimos, MD

UAB Department of Urology
Professor
Center Director
Administrative Core Director

Research Interests
kidney stones, oxalate

deanassimos@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Naim Maalouf, MD

Naim Maalouf, MD

UTSW Department of Internal Medicine
Associate Professor
Associate Director

Research Interests
kidney stones, obesity, endocrinology

Naim.Maalouf@UTSouthwestern.edu

View Academic Profile

Amy Goss, PhD

Amy Goss, PhD

UAB Department of Nutrition Sciences
Assistant Professor
Co-investigator

Research Interests
obesity, nutrition, weight loss, imaging

amymiski@uab.edu

View Academic Profile

John Knight, PhD

John Knight, PhD

UAB Department of Urology
Associate Professor
Co-investigator

Research Interests
kidney stones, oxalate, microbiome

johnknight@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Robert Oster, PhD

Robert Oster, PhD

UAB Department of Medicine
Professor
Co-investigator

Research Interests
clinical and translational science, clinical trials, biostatistics

roster@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Kyle Wood, MD

Kyle Wood, MD

UAB Department of Urology
Assistant Professor
Co-investigator

Research Interests
kidney stones, oxalate

kylewood@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Anupam Agarwal, MD

Anupam Agarwal, MD

UAB Department of Medicine
Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
acute kidney injury

aagarwal@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Jeffrey Browning, MD

Jeffrey Browning, MD

UTSW Department of Internal Medicine
Associate Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
fatty liver disease

Jeffrey.Browning@UTSouthwestern.edu

View Academic Profile

Joseph Crivelli, MD

Joseph Crivelli, MD

UAB Department of Urology
Endourology Fellow
Significant Contributor

Research Interests
kidney stones, oxalate

jcrivelli@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Sonia Fargue, MD, PhD

Sonia Fargue, MD, PhD

UAB Department of Urology
Assistant Professor
Significant Contributor

Research Interests
primary hyperoxaluria, oxalate endogenous synthesis, calcium oxalate kidney stones, inherited metabolic disorders

sfargue@uab.edu

View Academic Profile

Barbara Gower, PhD

Barbara Gower, PhD

UAB Nutrition and Obesity Center
Professor
Significant Contributor

Research Interests
obesity and energy metabolism

bgower@uab.edu

View Academic Profile

James Hill, PhD

James Hill, PhD

UAB Department of Nutrition Sciences
Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
obesity, weight loss

hillj@uab.edu

View Academic Profile

Robert Kimberly, MD

Robert Kimberly, MD

UAB Department of Medicine
Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
clincial trials, networking, clinical and translational science

rkimberly@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Tanecia Mitchell, PhD

Tanecia Mitchell, PhD

UAB Department of Urology
Assistant Professor
Significant Contributor

Research Interests
kidney stone disease, interstitial cystitis/painful bladder syndrome, immune cells, mitochondria, oxidative stress, inflammation

taneciamitchell@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Orson Moe, MD

Orson Moe, MD

UTSW Department of Internal Medicine
Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
renal physiology, nephrology, kidney stones

Orson.Moe@UTSouthwestern.edu

View Academic Profile

Gabriela Oates, PhD

Gabriela Oates, PhD

UAB Department of Pediatrics 
Assistant Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
cystic fibrosis, social determinates of health, health disparities 

goates@peds.uab.edu

View Academic Profile

Margaret Pearle, MD, PhD

Margaret Pearle, MD, PhD

UTSW Department of Urology
Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
kidney stones

Margaret.Pearle@UTSouthwestern.edu

View Academic Profile

Ji-Bin Peng, PhD

Ji-Bin Peng, PhD

UAB Department of Medicine
Assistant Professor
Significant Contributor

Research Interests
mechanism and regulation of calcium transport pathways

jibinpeng@uabmc.edu

View Academic Profile

Khashayar Sakhaee, MD

Khashayar Sakhaee, MD

UTSW Department of Internal Medicine
Professor
Significant Contributor 

Research Interests
kidney stones, osteoprosis

Khashayar.Sakhaee@UTSouthwestern.edu

View Academic Profile