September 06, 2023

Nine Heersink staff selected for inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff

Written by
dea 600

Heersink School of Medicine is proud to announce nine staff members have been selected as the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff winners.

These individuals, nominated by peers and colleagues, exemplify the criteria of this award by demonstrating outstanding accomplishments beyond their job description and significantly contributing to Heersink’s core mission areas of education, clinical care, and basic, translational, and clinical research. Their commitment to fostering a sense of belonging, building cooperative teams that promote inclusivity, advocating for others, and offering creative and innovative solutions sets them apart as an exceptional staff member and deserve to be recognized.

“It takes many hands to accomplish our work, and the Heersink staff significantly contribute to our success as an institution,” said Anupam Agarwal, M.D., dean of the Heersink School of Medicine. “I am thrilled to initiate the celebration of the dedication, commitment, and support of these individuals with the Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff. They are often the unsung champions for all we do. By acknowledging and honoring our staff, we celebrate the teamwork and unity that defines the Heersink School of Medicine and our shared goal of being one of the nation’s premier institutions for research, training, and patient care.”

DEA Staff Winners 2023 1We thank each of these individuals for their outstanding contributions toward growing a brighter, better future for our communities.

    • April Agne, program director II, Department of Medicine, Division of Preventative Medicine
    • Donna Bailer, executive administrator, Department of Neurosurgery
    • Paula Clawson, rural program coordinator, Huntsville Regional Medical Campus, Office for Family Health Education and Research
    • Kristi Gidley, executive administrator, Department of Otolaryngology
    • Betsy Hopson, director of STEP/ School of Medicine Research, Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine
    • Emily Knighton-Akins, program manager I, Heersink Dean’s Office, Office of Strategic Leadership Recruitment
    • Jason Noah, director of the Student Success Program, Department of Medical Education, Division of Medical Student Services
    • Ryan Outman, executive administrator, Department of Family Medicine
    • Theresa Wright, administrative associate, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Hospital Medicine