Katie Metrock 22019WEBLaura “Katie” Metrock, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Hematology-Oncology, has been selected to take over as director of the Pediatric Neuro-oncology Program starting October 1, 2023. In this capacity, Dr. Metrock will oversee and grow and develop clinical, research, and educational aspects of the neuro-oncology program.

Gupta Sandeep 2023WEBSandeep Gupta, M.D., professor in the Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Nutrition, has been elected to serve as the vice chair of the Pediatric Gastroenterology & Developmental Biology for the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA). 

Salas Ariel 2020WEBAriel Salas, M.D., associate professor in the Division of Neonatology, is the lead author on the Impact Article of the Month for August 2023 for Evidence-Based Neonatology (EBNEO).

Tofil Nancy 2017WEBNancy Tofil, M.D., professor in the Division of Pediatric Critical Care, received the 2023 Wallace Alexander Clyde Distinguished Service Award from the Alabama Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Congratulations to the 15 faculty promoted effective October 1, 2023!

GroupclassroomWEBThe Alabama Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Leadership Network recently gathered for a joint networking event on the UAB campus.

ResIDEAACouncil23WEBThe Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Advocacy (IDEAA) Council is a resident driven space where people of ALL backgrounds are invited to understand, champion, and celebrate our differences.

Aug 2023 New Faculty FYIF1The UAB Department of Pediatrics welcomed seven new faculty members in the month of August. Please join us in making them feel at home! 

Watson Andrew2020WEBAndrew Watson, M.D., (he/him/his), assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine, has been selected to join the Pediatric Residency Program as co-director of Pediatric Residency Program Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) initiatives.

Wilson Hope 2018WEBHope Wilson, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology, received a Loan Repayment Program (LRP) award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH).