WaltJohnsonAward2021 WEBL to R: Drs. Kylee Miller, Walt Johnson and Jon GilmoreKylee Miller, M.D., PGY-3 Pediatric Resident, and Jon Gilmore, M.D., PGY-2 Pediatric Resident were named the inaugural Walt “The Rock” Johnson Award winners by the Division of Pediatric Cardiology. 

A. Marbury red shirt headshotWEBAdrianne Marbury, MPA, program manager in the Division of Adolescent Medicine, has been selected to serve on the Core Leadership Team for the Birmingham Women’s Initiative.

NewFaculty MAY2021 FYIFCary Cavender and Byron LaiThe UAB Department of Pediatrics welcomes two new faculty members who have recently joined the department. Please join us in making them feel at home! 

Cary Cavender, M.D., professor in the Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition

Byron Lai, Ph.D., MS, assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine

CHUSCHOLARSHIP 2021 FYIFKatie Six and Lece WebbThe Chu Family has generously donated funds to Children's of Alabama and the Department of Pediatrics to support educational initiatives. A portion of this donation has been set aside for the pediatric fellows to fund scholarships for fellows who apply. Candidates were selected on a competitive basis. These awards will provide funds for tuition, books and fees related to their educational endeavors.

DixonFellow 2021 webThe Dixon Foundation supports the Dixon Pediatric Fellowship training program for fellows who intend to pursue an academic career with a research emphasis (ranging from basic and translational science to education or QI-centric research) in approved pediatric subspecialties.

Rutledge HeadshotUSETHISONEWEBThe UAB Pediatric Residency Program is pleased to announce the addition of Chrystal Rutledge, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Critical Care, as an assistant program director.

ResEducatorAward 2021 WEBEach year the MS3 and MS4 medical students rotating in pediatrics vote on this award to honor the pediatric residents who provide the best educational experience for the. Pediatrics has many amazing residents who work hard to provide meaningful educational opportunities and teaching moments with the students. The students, as well as the Pediatric Clerkship and 4th Year Acting Internship directors are extremely appreciative of everyone’s dedication to the education of these future doctors.

QI Winners 2021L to R: Drs. Adolfo Molina, Isabella Masler, Meghan Harrison, Adria Luk and Erinn SchmittCongratulations to Meghan Harrison, M.D., Pediatric Resident PGY-3, Adria Luk, M.D., Pediatric Resident PGY-3, Kathryn Cyrus, M.D., Pediatric Resident PGY-2 and Isabell Masler, M.D., Pediatric Resident PGY-1 on receiving the 2021 Quality Improvement Project Award.

Salas Ariel 2020WEBAriel Salas, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Neonatology, is among three recipients of the 2021 Travel Award grant for Early Career Investigators from the International Pediatric Research Foundation (IPRF) and the journal, Pediatric Research.

Stephen Russell WEBStephen Russell, M.D., professor in the Departments of Medicine and Pediatrics, has been named to the 2021-2022 class of the Harvard Macy Institute Art Museum-based Health Professions Education Fellowship.